Header

  Close Menu

Main Content

Pet Vaccination Laws

Rabies Titer
In Indiana, rabies vaccination exemptions are NOT allowed. The rabies titer cannot be used in lieu of rabies vaccination for any dog, cat or ferret.

Required Rabies Vaccination of Dogs, Cats, and Ferrets

(345 IAC 1-5-2)

All dogs, cats, and ferrets 3 months of age and older must be vaccinated against rabies. The rabies vaccination of a dog, cat, and ferret shall be maintained by ongoing revaccination of the animal as follows:

  1. Ferrets shall be revaccinated within 12 months of the prior vaccination.

  2. Dogs and cats that are vaccinated with a rabies vaccine whose label recommends annual boosters shall be revaccinated within 12 months of the prior vaccination.

  3. Dogs and cats that are vaccinated with a rabies vaccine whose label recommends a booster 1 year later and triennially thereafter shall be revaccinated within 12 months of the first vaccination and shall be revaccinated within 36 months of each vaccination thereafter. The owner of the animal is responsible for procuring the vaccinations required by this section.

Rabies Vaccination

345 IAC 1-5-1  
Authority: IC 15-17-3-21
Affected: IC 15-17-3-13; IC 15-17-6

Section 1

  1. For the purpose of administering IC 15-17-6 and this rule, an animal is deemed to be vaccinated for rabies only when the following provisions are met:

    1. The animal is vaccinated by a veterinarian that is:

      1. licensed to practice veterinary medicine; and

      2. accredited by the United States Department of Agriculture under 9 CFR, Subchapter J.

    2. The vaccine used must be licensed and approved by the United States Department of Agriculture. The dosage and administration of the vaccine used must be in accordance with this rule and the manufacturers' specifications described on the vaccine's label and package insert.

  2. The veterinarian performing a rabies vaccination of an animal shall do the following:

    1. Complete a vaccination certificate or computerized record, in triplicate, on each animal being vaccinated for rabies that shall include the following information:

      1. The name and address of the animal's owner.

      2. The species, sex, and age of the animal vaccinated.

      3. The date the animal was vaccinated.

      4. The product name and lot or serial number of the vaccine used.

      5. The date the animal must be revaccinated under section 2 of this rule.

      6. The number of the tag issued if a tag is issued under subdivision (3).

      7. The name of the veterinarian completing the vaccination and his or her Indiana veterinary license number.

    2. The rabies vaccination certificate completed under subdivision (1) shall be distributed as follows:

      1. One (1) copy of the certificate or computerized record shall be given to the owner or custodian of the animal being vaccinated for rabies.

      2. One (1) copy of the certificate or computerized record shall be forwarded to the county health officer or the officer's designated agent upon the county health officer's request, or as the state veterinarian otherwise directs, within thirty (30) days of the vaccination.

      3. One (1) copy of the certificate or computerized record shall be retained by the veterinarian vaccinating such animal covering the period of immunization

    3. A veterinarian that vaccinates a dog, cat, or ferret shall furnish to the owner or custodian of the animal a rabies vaccination identification tag that contains the following:

      1. The veterinarian's or clinic's name and telephone number.

      2. A unique identification number.

      3. The owner or custodian of an animal vaccinated for rabies shall keep a copy of the certificate and tag required to be issued under subsection (b) until such time as the animal must be revaccinated under section 2 of this rule. The board recommends that the owner or custodian of a dog affix the rabies vaccination tag to the collar or harness of the dog and that it be worn at all times. Nothing in this rule shall prevent a local unit of government from requiring that rabies vaccination tags be worn at all times. (d) Animals that have been vaccinated for rabies are subject to all quarantine provisions that may be imposed by state or local regulations. The final determination of an animal's rabies vaccination status shall be made by the state veterinarian.

345 IAC 1-5-3 Animal rabies control program
Section 3

  1. The state veterinarian shall establish a statewide animal rabies control program. The rabies control program shall include the following:

    1. The rabies vaccination requirements in this rule.

    2. The rabies vaccine distribution requirements in 345 IAC 1-1.1.

    3. The rabies control requirements for the following:

      1. Moving animals into the state in 345 IAC 1-3.

      2. Exhibition of animals in 345 IAC 7-5.

    4. Other requirements in IC 15-17-6 and this rule.

    5. Other programs initiated by the state veterinarian for the purposes of:

      1. preventing;

      2. detecting;

      3. controlling; and

      4. eradicating rabies.

  2. The following components of the Compendium of Animal Rabies Control, 2016, National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians, Inc., are incorporated by reference as rules of the Indiana state board of animal health and shall be used in the implementation of the program established under subsection (a):

    1. Part I(B)(1) "Prevention and control methods in domestic and confined animals" and Part II "Recommendations for Parenteral Rabies Vaccination Procedures" when interpreting and implementing the animal vaccination requirements in this rule.

    2. Part I(B)(5) and Part I(B)(6) "Post-exposure management" when interpreting and implementing IC 15-17-6 governing animal bites.

  3. Where the matters incorporated by reference in this section conflict with the provisions of IC 15-17-6 and this rule, the express provisions of the statute and this rule shall control

NOTE: IC 35-46-3-1 - Harboring a nonimmunized dog

A person who knowingly or intentionally harbors a dog that is over the age of six (6) months and not immunized against rabies commits harboring a nonimmunized dog, a class C infraction. However, the offense is a class B misdemeanor if the dog causes bodily injury by biting a person.

News and FAQs

Top FAQs