Header

  Close Menu

Cosmetology & Barber Licensing Information

Application Instructions

Applicants for personal beauty culture licensing may apply online now! Go to MyLicense.IN.gov and you will either need to create or login to your Access Indiana, single sign-on account. You will complete the online application and submit payment with a credit or debit card. You will be contacted by a customer service representative with details of what additional documentation is required to complete your application. Applications are process in the order received.

  • Barber by Examination
    • Application - Applicants must be at least 18 years of age; or 17 years of age and a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Education Certification - You must 1500 hours of barbering education completed at an Indiana beauty culture school.  Have your Indiana approved beauty culture school complete the Beauty Culture Education Certification form and upload the document as part of the application process.
    • Examination Pass Notice - You must pass the written examination through PSI [those that have graduated before the exam was part of graduation (71/2013) will need to apply for a waiver of the 3 year deadline if they failed to meet it.] and upload your examination pass notice or submit to our office as part of your application.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Barber by Reciprocity

    If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues a barber license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a beauty culture school in Indiana. The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana approved beauty culture school and then apply by examination. Beauty culture schools may accept hours from an out-of-state school, but are not required by the board to do so.

    If the applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice barbering, the applicant may apply for a provisional barber license (see below).

    • Application - Applicants must be at least 18 years of age; or 17 years of age and a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
      • For Jurisdictions outside the United States only: Please submit high school diploma (or record of last year attended) and beauty culture school transcript. If your original documents are in a foreign language, a certified translation in English must accompany the original documents.
    • Verification of State Licensure(s) - We must receive verification from every state, territory, and country that you hold or have held a license. A copy of your license will not suffice.
      • Minimum education requirements:
        • The state or country you hold a license in must require at least 1500 hours of education or one (1) year of licensed practice is equal to one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of one thousand (1000) hours of education. The jurisdiction must also require at least 70% passing on the written and practical exams.
        • The number of hours reflects the applicant’s state’s minimum education requirement rather than the actual number of hours that were obtained. If the applicant completed extra hours above and beyond the state’s minimum requirement, the extra hours would not apply.
        • If the applicant’s jurisdiction accepts apprenticeship hours as an option for licensure, the applicant should submit documentation showing proof of completing the education requirement; this may include a transcript from the applicant’s beauty culture school, an official certification from the original jurisdiction that indicates the applicant received 1500 hours of barber education from a beauty culture school, or a letter from the jurisdiction indicating that the applicant received 1500 hours of barber education from a beauty culture school.
      • If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues a barber license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a beauty culture school in Indiana. The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana approved beauty culture school and then apply by examination. Beauty culture schools may accept hours from an out-of-state school, but are not required by the board to do so.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Barber by Upgrade

    To apply by Upgrade, the applicant must hold a barber license in Indiana.

    • Application - Applicants must be at least 18 years of age; or 17 years of age and a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Provisional Barber

    The applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice barbering (has only a school certificate to practice in the jurisdiction.)   Applicant must provide proof of sufficient training or experience as a barber.

    • Application - Applicants must be at least 18 years of age; or 17 years of age and a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office including the portion indicating your potential place of employment with your supervising licensee’s signature.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
      • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Proof of Training/Experience: Applicant must provide proof of experience, such as proof of salon experience. Applicant must submit transcript of training from a beauty culture school. All transcripts must be accompanied by a certified translation in English.
      • The applicant must have completed  at least 1500 hours of education or one (1) year of licensed practice is equal to one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of one thousand (1000) hours of education.
      • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    An applicant who has been granted an initial provisional license must work under the supervision of a licensed barber.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Beauty Culture Instructor by Examination
    • Application - Applicants must be a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Instructor Certification: You must have 1000 hours of education completed at an Indiana beauty culture school.
    • Examination Pass Notice: Pass written examination through PSI [those that have graduated before the exam was part of graduation (71/2013) will need to apply for waiver of the 3 year deadline if they failed to meet it.]

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Beauty Culture Instructor by Reciprocity
    • Application - Applicants must be a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
      • For Jurisdictions outside the United States only: Please submit high school diploma (or record of last year attended) and beauty culture school transcript. If your original documents are in a foreign language, a certified translation in English must accompany the original documents.
    • Verification of State Licensure(s) -  We must receive verification from every state, territory, and country that you hold or have held a license. A copy of your license will not suffice.
      • Jurisdiction must require 1000 hours* of beauty culture instructor education in a beauty culture school. Indiana does not accept apprenticeship hours.** One (1) year of licensed practice may substitute for one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of 700 hours of instructor education
        • The number of hours reflects the applicant’s state’s minimum education requirement rather than the actual number of hours that were obtained. If the applicant completed extra hours above and beyond the state’s minimum requirement, the extra hours would not apply.
        • If the applicant’s jurisdiction accepts apprenticeship hours as an option for licensure, the applicant should submit documentation showing proof of completing the education requirement; this may include a transcript from the applicant’s beauty culture school, an official certification from the original jurisdiction that indicates the applicant received 1000 hours of instructor education from a beauty culture school, or a letter from the jurisdiction indicating that the applicant received 700 hours of beauty culture instructor education from a beauty culture school.
      • Must require at least 70% passing on both written and practical licensing exams
      • If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues a beauty culture instructor license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a beauty culture school in Indiana. The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana approved beauty culture school and then apply by examination. Beauty culture schools may accept hours from an out-of-state beauty culture school, but are not required by the board to do so.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Cosmetologist by Examination
    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Education Certification - You must have 1500 hours of cosmetology education completed at an Indiana beauty culture school.  Have your Indiana approved beauty culture school complete the Beauty Culture Education Certification form and upload the document as part of the application process.
    • Examination Pass Notice - You must pass the written examination through PSI [those that have graduated before the exam was part of graduation (71/2013) will need to apply for a waiver of the 3 year deadline if they failed to meet it.] and upload your examination pass notice or submit to our office as part of your application.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Cosmetologist by Reciprocity

    If the applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice cosmetology, the applicant may apply for a provisional cosmetologist license (see below).

    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
      • For Jurisdictions outside the United States only: Please submit high school diploma (or record of last year attended) and beauty culture school transcript. If your original documents are in a foreign language, a certified translation in English must accompany the original documents.
    • Verification of State Licensure(s) -  Include a license certification from the state(s) or country you hold, or have held, a license in. (if from a foreign country, must include an English translation of the documents). Online certification is acceptable if it provides a field for possible disciplinary action.
      • The state or country you hold a license in must require at least 1500 hours of education or one (1) year of licensed practice is equal to one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of one thousand (1000) hours of education. The jurisdiction must also require at least 70% passing on the written and practical exams.
        • The number of hours reflects the applicant’s state’s minimum education requirement rather than the actual number of hours that were obtained. If the applicant completed extra hours above and beyond the state’s minimum requirement, the extra hours would not apply.
        • If the applicant’s jurisdiction accepts apprenticeship hours as an option for licensure, the applicant should submit documentation showing proof of completing the education requirement; this may include a transcript from the applicant’s beauty culture school, an official certification from the original jurisdiction that indicates the applicant received 1500 hours of cosmetologist education from a beauty culture school, or a letter from the jurisdiction indicating that the applicant received 1500 hours of cosmetologist education from a beauty culture school.
      • If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues a cosmetologist license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a beauty culture school in Indiana. The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana approved beauty culture school and then apply by examination. Beauty culture.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Cosmetologist by Upgrade
    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Provisional Cosmetologist

    The applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice cosmetology (has only a school certificate to practice in the jurisdiction.)   Applicant must provide proof of sufficient training or experience as a cosmetologist.

    • Application - Applicants must be at least 18 years of age; or 17 years of age and a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office including the portion indicating your potential place of employment with your supervising licensee’s signature.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
      • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Proof of Training/Experience: Applicant must provide proof of experience, such as proof of salon experience. Applicant must submit transcript of training from a beauty culture school. All transcripts must be accompanied by a certified translation in English.
      • The applicant must have completed  at least 1500 hours of education or one (1) year of licensed practice is equal to one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of one thousand (1000) hours of education.
      • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    An applicant who has been granted an initial provisional license must work under the supervision of a licensed cosmetologist.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Electrologist by Examination

    Must hold a valid Indiana cosmetologist or esthetician license.

    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Education Certification - You must have 300 hours of electrology education completed at an Indiana beauty culture school..  Have your Indiana approved beauty culture school complete the Beauty Culture Education Certification form and upload the document as part of the application process.
    • Examination Pass Notice - You must pass the written examination through PSI [those that have graduated before the exam was part of graduation (71/2013) will need to apply for a waiver of the 3 year deadline if they failed to meet it.] and upload your examination pass notice or submit to our office as part of your application.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Electrologist by Reciprocity

    If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues an esthetician license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a beauty culture school in Indiana. The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana approved beauty culture school and then apply by examination. Beauty culture schools may accept hours from an out-of-state school, but are not required by the board to do so.

    If the applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice esthetics, the applicant may apply for a provisional esthetician license (see below).

    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
      • For Jurisdictions outside the United States only: Please submit high school diploma (or record of last year attended) and beauty culture school transcript. If your original documents are in a foreign language, a certified translation in English must accompany the original documents.
    • Verification of State Licensure(s) -  Include a license certification from the state(s) or country you hold, or have held, a license in. (if from a foreign country, must include an English translation of the documents). Online certification is acceptable if it provides a field for possible disciplinary action.
      • Applicant’s jurisdiction must require 300 hours of education. Indiana does not accept apprenticeship hours.** One (1) year of licensed practice may substitute for one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of 200 hours of education. The jurisdiction must also require at least 70% passing on the written and practical exams.
        • The number of hours reflects the applicant’s state’s minimum education requirement rather than the actual number of hours that were obtained. If the applicant completed extra hours above and beyond the state’s minimum requirement, the extra hours would not apply.
        • If the applicant’s jurisdiction accepts apprenticeship hours as an option for licensure, the applicant should submit documentation showing proof of completing the education requirement; this may include a transcript from the applicant’s beauty culture school, an official certification from the original jurisdiction that indicates the applicant received 300 hours of electrology education education from a beauty culture school, or a letter from the jurisdiction indicating that the applicant received 300 hours of electrology education education from a beauty culture school.
      • If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues a electrologist license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a beauty culture school in Indiana. The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana approved beauty culture school and then apply by examination. Beauty culture

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Electrologist by Upgrade
    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Provisional Electrologist

    The applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice electrology (has only a school certificate to practice in the jurisdiction.)   Applicant must provide proof of sufficient training or experience as an electrologist.

    • Application - Applicants must be at least 18 years of age; or 17 years of age and a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office including the portion indicating your potential place of employment with your supervising licensee’s signature.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
      • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Proof of Training/Experience: Applicant must provide proof of experience, such as proof of salon experience. Applicant must submit transcript of training from a beauty culture school. All transcripts must be accompanied by a certified translation in English.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    An applicant who has been granted an initial provisional license must work under the supervision of a licensed cosmetologist or electrologist.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Esthetician by Examination
    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Education Certification - You must have 700 hours of esthetics education completed at an Indiana beauty culture school. Have your Indiana approved beauty culture school complete the Beauty Culture Education Certification form and upload the document as part of the application process.
    • Examination Pass Notice - You must pass the written examination through PSI [those that have graduated before the exam was part of graduation (71/2013) will need to apply for a waiver of the 3 year deadline if they failed to meet it.] and upload your examination pass notice or submit to our office as part of your application.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Esthetician by Reciprocity

    If the applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice cosmetology, the applicant may apply for a provisional cosmetologist license (see below).

    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
      • For Jurisdictions outside the United States only: Please submit high school diploma (or record of last year attended) and beauty culture school transcript. If your original documents are in a foreign language, a certified translation in English must accompany the original documents.
    • Verification of State Licensure(s) -  Include a license certification from the state(s) or country you hold, or have held, a license in. (if from a foreign country, must include an English translation of the documents). Online certification is acceptable if it provides a field for possible disciplinary action.
      • The state or country you hold a license in must require at least 700 hours of education. If not, One (1) year of licensed practice may substitute for one hundred (100) hours of education to an applicant who has completed a minimum of 400 hours of education. The jurisdiction must also require at least 70% passing on the written and practical exams.
        • The number of hours reflects the applicant’s state’s minimum education requirement rather than the actual number of hours that were obtained. If the applicant completed extra hours above and beyond the state’s minimum requirement, the extra hours would not apply.
        • If the applicant’s jurisdiction accepts apprenticeship hours as an option for licensure, the applicant should submit documentation showing proof of completing the education requirement; this may include a transcript from the applicant’s beauty culture school, an official certification from the original jurisdiction that indicates the applicant received 700 hours of esthetics education from a beauty culture school, or a letter from the jurisdiction indicating that the applicant received 700 hours of esthetician education from a beauty culture school.
      • If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that issues an esthetician license but does not meet Indiana’s minimum reciprocity requirements, they may transfer their hours from their original out-of-state school to a beauty culture school in Indiana. The applicant would need to graduate from the Indiana approved beauty culture school and then apply by examination. Beauty culture schools may accept hours from an out-of-state school, but are not required by the board to do so.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Esthetician by Upgrade
    • Application - Applicants must have completed 10th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Provisional Esthetician

    The applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice esthetics (has only a school certificate to practice in the jurisdiction.)   Applicant must provide proof of sufficient training or experience as a esthetician.

    • Application - Applicants must be at least 18 years of age; or 17 years of age and a graduate of high school or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office including the portion indicating your potential place of employment with your supervising licensee’s signature.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
      • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Proof of Training/Experience: Applicant must provide proof of experience, such as proof of salon experience. Applicant must submit transcript of training from a beauty culture school. All transcripts must be accompanied by a certified translation in English.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    An applicant who has been granted an initial provisional license must work under the supervision of a licensed esthetician or cosmetologist.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Manicurist by Examination
    • Application - Applicants must have completed 8th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Education Certification - You must have 450 hours of manicuring education completed at an Indiana beauty culture school. Have your Indiana approved beauty culture school complete the Beauty Culture Education Certification form and upload the document as part of the application process.
    • Examination Pass Notice - You must pass the written examination through PSI [those that have graduated before the exam was part of graduation (71/2013) will need to apply for a waiver of the 3 year deadline if they failed to meet it.] and upload your examination pass notice or submit to our office as part of your application.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Manicurist by Reciprocity

    If the applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice manicuring the applicant may apply for a provisional manicurist license (see below).

    • Application - Applicants must have completed 8th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Manicurist by Upgrade
    • Application - Applicants must have completed 8th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office. If you have ever held a license as a beauty culture professional previously in Indiana, you may login to your MyLicense.IN.gov account and renew your license or select Renewal Documents in the Renewal Instructions section for more information.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Additional Documentation - Documentation may be uploaded as part of the online application process, or you may log back into your account at MyLicense.IN.gov and use the License Update feature to submit documentation after your initial application has been submitted.
      • Name Change Documentation - Documentation of any legal name change if your name differs from that on any of your documents. Documentation may include a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree.
      • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
        • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Provisional Manicurist

    The applicant’s jurisdiction does not issue a license to practice manicuring (has only a school certificate to practice in the jurisdiction.)   Applicant must provide proof of sufficient training or experience as a manicurist.

    • Application - Applicants must have completed 8th grade education or equivalent. Applications may be submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov or completed by paper and mailed to our office including the portion indicating your potential place of employment with your supervising licensee’s signature.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Pay by credit or debit card for applications submitted online at MyLicense.IN.gov. If applying by paper/mail make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency. All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Positive Response Documentation - If you answer "Yes" to any disciplinary/background questions on the application, explain fully in a statement that includes all details. Include the violation, location, date and disposition. Submit copies of court documents for each instance to support the statement.
      • If you have a conviction record, include a copy of the conviction record that indicates the disposition of the conviction. It should include the type and date of the conviction, time served, if applicable, and the disposition of any probation being served or successfully completed.
    • Proof of Training/Experience: Applicant must provide proof of experience, such as proof of salon experience. Applicant must submit transcript of training from a beauty culture school. All transcripts must be accompanied by a certified translation in English.
    • Beauty Culture Provisional Verification: Section A - Experience in Your Jurisdiction and the Indiana Supervising Licensing and Beauty Culture Salon Sections are required for Provisional License Applicants. Section B - Provisional Upgrade Supervisor Verification of Experience is required for Upgrade Applicants.

    An applicant who has been granted an initial provisional license must work under the supervision of a licensed manicurist or cosmetologist.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Mandatory Disclosure of U.S. Social Security Number: Your social security number is being requested by this state agency in accordance with Ind. Code 4-1-8-1 and 25-1-5- 11(a). Disclosure is mandatory, and this record cannot be processed without it.

    Failure to disclose your U.S. social security number will result in the denial of your application. Application fees are not refundable.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Beauty Culture Salons
    The beauty culture salon must be under the personal supervision of a person who is licensed as a beauty culture professional.
    • Application - Applications may completed by paper and mailed to our office for processing.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Beauty Culture Salon Minimum Requirements - The Inspection Checklist Example is available for review. 
      • Applicant must select a site for the salon; if the site is in the same building as a residence, it must be separated from the residence by a substantial floor to ceiling partition and have a separate entry.
      • Applicant must obtain any building permit, certificate of occupancy, or other approval action required under IC 22-15-3 and IC 36-7-4 to operate the cosmetology salon.
      • Applicant must install the furnishings and obtain the salon equipment required under rules adopted by the board.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Mobile Salons
    The beauty culture salon must be under the personal supervision of a person who is licensed as a beauty culture professional.
    • Application - Applications may completed by paper and mailed to our office for processing.
    • Application Fee of $40.00 - Make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.
    • Mobile Salon Minimum Requirements-
      • A mobile salon/shop may be;
        • (1) a self-contained facility that may be moved, towed, or transported from one location to another and in which cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, manicuring or barbering is practiced, or;
          • (2) A business in which cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, manicuring, or barbering equipment is transported to and used on a temporary basis at a location other than a selected salon site, including:
            • (A) other cosmetology, electrology, esthetic, manicuring, or barbering salons/shops;
            • (B) clients' homes; and
            • (C) nursing homes.
      • Applicants must comply with the rules adopted by the board (820 IAC 2-1, 3-1, and 3-2)

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Beauty Culture Schools
    • Application - Applications may completed by paper and mailed to our office for processing.  The requirements for additional documentation is listed in the instructions on the application itself.
    • Application Fee of $400.00 - Make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.

    Additional Documents -

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

  • Tanning Facilities
    • Application - Applications may completed by paper and mailed to our office for processing.
    • Application Fee of $200.00 - Make checks or money orders payable to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  All application fees are nonrefundable.

    IC 16-1-47, Section 18(A) the operator of a tanning facility must report each known: (1) injury; or (2) complaint of an injury; that results from the use of a tanning device in the tanning facility to the State Board.

    All documents being sent to our office from a direct source (if needed) should be mailed to:

    Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
    Attn: State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
    402 West Washington Street,  Room W072
    Indianapolis, IN 46204

    The Fair Information Practice Act:  In compliance with Ind. Code 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information, or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

    Abandon Applications:  If an applicant does not submit all requirements within one (1) year after the date on which the application is filed, the application for licensure is abandoned without any action of the Board. An application submitted after an abandoned application shall be treated as a new application.

Renewal Instructions

  • License Renewal Information

    Renewal Information
    Renewal notices are sent approximately ninety (90) days prior to the expiration date.  Licensees with a valid email address on file will be emailed the renewal information.  Licensees that do not have a valid email address on file will be mailed license renewal information.  This notice is mailed to the licensee's address of record with the Board.

    Online Renewal
    Renew your license online using mylicense.in.gov.  Individuals must create their Access Indiana account, and then link their individual license record.  Businesses must locate their existing license record with their license number and their registration code as provided in their renewal notice. Please contact pla12@pla.in.gov if you cannot locate your registration code for business licenses (Salon, School, or Tanning Facility only.)

    Renew by Mail
    You may print a renewal from the Renewal Documents section below.

  • Renewal Documents

    To renew your license by paper you must select a form below.  Print and mail the completed form with the required renewal fee to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.  The address is on the form and checks should be made out to 'Indiana Professional Licensing Agency'.  If you answer 'yes' to any of the questions be sure to include a detailed response with your renewal form.

  • Instructions for Restoring a Beauty Culture Professional License Expired Beyond Five (5) years

    IC 25-1-8-6 provides for the restoration of a beauty culture professional license that has been expired beyond five (5) years.  If you would like to renew your beauty culture professional license that has been expired for more than five (5) years, please follow the steps below:

    • Submit a completed renewal form by mail.
    • Payment of the restoration fee of $80.00 (Cost of the current renewal fee of $40.00 plus cost of the current application fee of $40.00).  All fees are non-refundable. 
    • Complete such remediation and additional training as deemed appropriate by the board given the lapse of time involved (the board has determined that taking and passing the written licensing examination is appropriate remediation)
    • Schedule your examination using the registration information contained in the eligibility letter that you will receive upon receipt of the renewal application.
    • Take and pass your examination within one year of application to restore your license.

    If your license cannot be verified by the State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners and you do not have an actual expired license to submit, you will need to complete the appropriate course at a cosmetology or barber school and apply for licensure by examination.

Exams & Testing

Fee Schedule

  • Cosmetology and Barber Applications/Renewal
    FeePenaltyTotal
    Cosmetologist, Barber Esthetician, Manicurist, Electrologist, Instructor License Application$40NA$0
    Cosmetologist, Barber Esthetician, Manicurist, Electrologist, Instructor License Renewal - Unexpired $40NA$40
    Cosmetologist, Barber Esthetician, Manicurist, Electrologist, Instructor License Renewal - Expired $40$50$90
    Cosmetologist, Barber Esthetician, Manicurist, Electrologist, Instructor License Renewal - Expired > 3 years$80NA$80
    Beauty Culture School Application$400NA$400
    Beauty Culture School Renewal - Unexpired$400NA$400
    Beauty Culture School Renewal - Expired$400$50$450
    Beauty Culture Salon Application$40NA$40
    Beauty Culture Salon Renewal - Unexpired$40NA$40
    Beauty Culture Salon Renewal - Expired$40$50$90
    Tanning Facility Application$200NA$200
    Tanning Facility Renewal - Unexpired$200NA$200
    Tanning Facility Renewal - Expired$200$50$250