Language Translation
Home & Community Home & Community
Programs Programs
  Close Menu

Adult Mental Health Habilitation Services Program

Adult Mental Health Habilitation Program

Indiana Medicaid offers coverage for Adult Mental Health Habilitation (AMHH) home- and community-based services (HCBS). These services are provided to adults with a serious mental illness who reside in a HCBS setting and may benefit from AMHH services to live a safer lifestyle. AMHH services are also available for eligible adults with both mental illness and addiction disorders.

Individuals must meet both HCBS eligibility and Medicaid eligibility guidelines in order to be eligible for AMHH services. To be eligible individuals must be:

  • Age 19 or older

  • Enrolled in Medicaid

  • Residing in or transitioning to a setting which meets federal setting requirements for home- and community-based services (non-institutionalized)

  • AMHH-eligible with a Division of Mental Health and Addiction (DMHA)-approved diagnosis

  • Demonstrating a level of need by meeting the following criteria:

    • Receive a score of 3 or higher on the DMHA-approved assessment tool

    • Not be a danger to self or others

Covered Services

In addition to Medicaid-covered services, individuals receiving AMHH services are eligible for the following:

  • Adult day services
  • Home- and community-based habilitation and support services
  • Respite care
  • Therapy and behavioral support services
  • Addiction counseling
  • Peer support services
  • Supported community engagement services
  • Care coordination
  • Medication training and support

Member Information

  • To apply for AMHH services, go to your local community mental health center. It is helpful to apply as soon as you identify a need for services.

  • You must also apply for Medicaid. You can learn more about applying for Medicaid by going to the Apply for Coverage webpage.

  • For more information on AMHH, please visit Family and Social Services Administration's (FSSA) AMHH webpage or email

Provider Information

  • AMHH services may be delivered only by providers meeting specific state-defined criteria. DMHA certifies agencies to provide AMHH services. DMHA-certified community mental health centers are eligible to be approved AMHH service provider agencies.

  • DMHA-approved providers must also be enrolled with Indiana Health Coverage Programs (IHCP) as a mental health care provider with the AMHH specialty. Refer to the Become a Provider webpage for more information.

  • Additional provider resources regarding AMHH services are available at the following links:

Provider News & Events

See More