General - FAQs
- When does the Health Board meet?
The Health Board meets quarterly, on the third Tuesday of January, April, July and October of each year. They are held in the Conference Room at the Office Complex South in Albion at 7:30 pm.
- Is the public invited to the Health Board meeting?
Yes, the meeting is open to the public.
- Are appointments required to come before the Health Board?
Yes, two weeks before the Board Meeting.
- How do I access my immunization records?
You may access your immunization records at www.myvaxindiana.in.gov. You will need a unique security code which may be obtained by calling the immunization clinic at 260-636-2978 x 1 and speaking to the clinic receptionist. COVID-19 vaccination records can be accessed at the Indiana Vaccination Portal at Access Indiana. You will need to register for an account in order to access the record.
- How do I schedule a COVID-19 vaccine?
You can schedule a COVID vaccine by clicking here.
- How do I schedule a COVID-19 test?
You may schedule a COVID test by clicking here.
- How can I replace my lost COVID-19 vaccine card?
COVID-19 vaccination records can be accessed at the Indiana Vaccination Portal at Access Indiana. You will need to register for an account in order to access the record. You may also come to the Noble County Health Department clinic during regular business hours. You will need to present ID and a replacement card will be made for you for a $2.00 fee.
Food and Consumer Safety - Animal Bites - FAQs
- What is rabies?
It is a viral infection transmitted in the saliva of an infected animal. The virus enters the central nervous system of the host.
- Are animal bites reportable?
Yes, by law all animal bites are to be reported to the local Heatlh Department as soon as possible after the incident occurs.
- What is considered a bite?
If there is a possibility that the saliva from the animal has entered the blood stream.
- What happens to the animal after a bite incident?
Only a dog, cat or ferret can be confined for 10 days from the date of the bite. At the end of the quarantine period a visual health check is conducted to verify the health of the animal. If the animal is showing any signs of illness, a veterinarian’s opinion is sought. If the animal is healthy, the quarantine is lifted.
- My animal has a current rabies vaccination, why do I have to quarantine for 10 days?
By law, whether an animal has a current rabies vaccination or not, the animal is still required to be quarantined for 10 days.
- What does quarantine mean?
A quarantine means the animal cannot have any contact with another human or animal other than the caregiver.
- What if a wild animal bites me?
In the case of wild animal bites, the individual species is considered before deciding whether to euthanize the animal for rabies testing.
Food and Consumer Safety - Tattoo/Body Piercings - FAQs
- Is a license required to operate a tattoo/body piercing facility in Noble County?
- How do I receive a license to operate a tattoo/body piercing facility in Noble County?
Contact the Noble County Health Department for more information.
- What is the fee for opening a tattoo/body piercing facility in Noble County?
See fee schedule.
Septic and Wastewater - FAQs
- How much is an onsite sewage disposal system permit?
See fee schedule.
- What do I need to apply for a septic permit?
See the Septic System Permit Procedure Guide.
- What is an onsite evaluation?
An onsite evaluation /soil boring is an actual physical visit to the lot or the location where an onsite sewage disposal system is proposed. A Soil Scientist will provide a direct detailed soil analysis to be reviewed by the septic EHS for the purpose of providing minimum requirements for the proposed system.
- Where can I obtain a list of the Soil Scientists?
See Soil Scientists list.
- If there is no record of my septic diagram, how would I find the location of my septic system?
Contact the Septic-EHS at the Health Department.
- Are well permits required?
Currently Noble County does not have a Well Ordinance, however, the well is required to be 50 feet from any portion of the septic system as stated on the permit.
Vital Records - FAQs
- What are the hours that Vital Records is open?
Monday thru Friday 8:00 am – 4:00 pm.
- What are the hours that Vital Records is open?
Current legal picture identification (such as driver's license or state id) is needed. If you are married, a copy of your marriage license will be needed. If you have been married more than once, a copy of each marriage license to the current name that you have now (if you are female) will need to be presented.
- I was born in Noble County, where do I go to obtain a birth certificate?
The Noble County Health Department, Vital Records division, maintains records for persons born in Noble County. Written applications must be completed and identification is required of the applicant whether by mail or in person.
- What is the cost of a birth certificate?
The fee is $10.00 cash, credit card, or money order, no personal checks for each birth certificate they come in half sheet. Money orders must be made out to the Noble County Health Department.
- My name is spelled wrong or my birth date is wrong on my birth certificate. What can I do about it?
An amendment can be filed with the local office or the Indiana State Department of Health for correction. Two documents, at least 10 years old and a picture I.D. must be presented to confirm the spelling of the name. A $15.00 fee is required and an appointment is necessary.
- I was born in another state, but my adoption took place in Noble County, so why don't you have my birth record?
Even though a person was adopted in Noble County, the record is maintained in the county/state of birth.
- All of my identification was lost/stolen/destroyed and I need to get a birth certificate to establish identity. Yet, I am required to present proof of who I am in order to obtain my birth certificate. How can I prove to you who I am?
Under these circumstances a member of your immediate family may be eligible to apply for your birth certificate by presenting their identification. They must also show proof of the relationship (for i.e. their birth certificate or a marriage certificate).
- I am in a hurry to get my birth certificate and I live out of the city/state. How can I get my certificate quickly?
You may send your application by express mail and enclosed another express mail envelope inside for us to mail it back to you.
- I was born in another state but I have lived in Noble County all my life. Why can't you issue my birth certificate?
Birth records are recorded and maintained in the county/state of birth regardless of where the person lives. Noble County cannot issue birth certificates for any place except for people born in Noble County.
- What is the cost of a death certificate?
They are $12.00 for each one. We will only accept cash, credit cards, or money orders made out to the Noble County Health Department. Personal checks are not accepted.
- If a person has lived all their life in Noble County and is buried in a Noble County cemetery but died in another county/state, why don't you have the death certificate?
Death records are recorded in the county/state where the individual expired, no matter where he/she lived or is buried.
- How much is genealogy research?
Searches by volunteers or office personnel are $10.00 non-refundable for each request. Payment must be made by cash, credit card, or money order. Again, personal checks are not accepted.
- What should I include on my request for genealogy?
The name of the person, their date of death and their parent's names. Our records date back to 1882. Anything prior to 1882 would not be available in Noble County Vital Records.
- What about birth records for genealogy?
Birth records for genealogy purposes are only available on individuals who would be at least 75 years old.