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[1] Following a bench trial, Teresa Treat (“Treat”) was convicted of domestic 

battery1 as a Class A misdemeanor and was sentenced to 180 days of 

incarceration, which was suspended to probation.  Treat appeals her sentence 

and raises the following issue:  whether the trial court abused its discretion 

when it ordered her to pay probation user fees. 

[2] We affirm. 

Facts and Procedural History 

[3] On the night of December 21, 2017, Treat and her husband, J.T., went out for 

dinner with Treat’s daughter and her daughter’s boyfriend at a restaurant in 

Southport, Indiana, where Treat consumed a couple of alcoholic beverages.  

Afterwards, Treat and J.T. left the restaurant and began driving to J.T.’s 

mother’s house in New Palestine, Indiana, because J.T. wanted to give some 

money to his son, who was having a party to celebrate his birthday.  On the 

way to the house, Treat became very upset about her marriage, and she 

punched J.T. on the right side of his face with a closed fist.  Tr. Vol. II at 14.  

This punch resulted in a bruise that lingered for approximately three or four 

weeks.  Id. at 15.    

[4] When Treat and J.T. arrived at his mother’s home, the party was over, and 

everybody had already left.  J.T. drove Treat home, and she went straight to 

                                            

1
 See Ind. Code § 35-42-2-1.3(a)(1). 
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bed.  J.T. then left the house and went to a nearby gas station where he called 

the police and reported the battery.  Id. at 17.  When officers arrived at the 

house, they took photographs of J.T.’s injuries.  Treat was then arrested and 

charged with one count of Class A misdemeanor domestic battery and one 

count of Class A misdemeanor battery resulting in bodily injury.  Appellant’s 

App. Vol. II at 17.  After a bench trial, Treat was convicted of Class A 

misdemeanor domestic battery and acquitted of the battery resulting in bodily 

injury charge.  Tr. Vol. II at 78.    

[5] A sentencing hearing was held on May 31, 2018, and the trial court sentenced 

Treat to 180 days in prison with 176 days suspended to non-reporting 

probation.  Id. at 81; Appellant’s App. Vol. II at 12.  At the conclusion of the 

sentencing hearing, the trial court told Treat, “I think there’s a nominal fee for 

the non-reporting probation but I’m ordering no fines and no court costs.”  Tr. 

Vol. II at 83.  The trial court’s sentencing order did not specify the probation 

user fees; however, it did list a $50.00 domestic violence prevention fee and a 

$50.00 supplemental public defender fee.  Appellant’s App. Vol. II at 12.    

[6] The next day, the Marion County Probation Department (“the Probation 

Department”) filed a memorandum with the trial court, which stated:  

The above[-]named defendant was convicted of … MA:  

Domestic Battery and sentenced to 176 days Non-Reporting 

Probation.  Per the Indiana Trial Court Fee Manual, the 

following fees are eligible to be assessed that were not addressed 

by the Court:  
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Probation Administrative Fee in the amount of $50.00  

Probation User Fee in the amount of $170.00  

The Probation Department is seeking clarification as to if the 

Court wishes to have these fees assessed.  

Id. at 87.  In response to this memorandum, the trial court issued an “Order on 

Memorandum of Probation” that ordered the Probation Department to 

“[p]lease access [sic] fees as defendant was made aware there were fees involved 

at sentencing.”  Id. at 88.  On June 8, 2018, the trial court approved a request 

from the Probation Department to apply Treat’s bond to her outstanding 

balance of $320.00.  Id. at 89-90.  Treat now appeals. 

Discussion and Decision 

[7] Treat challenges the imposition of probation fees.  Specifically, she contends 

that the trial court abused its discretion when it allowed the Probation 

Department, rather than the trial court, to assess those fees.  “‘Sentencing 

decisions include decisions to impose fees and costs,’ and a trial court’s 

sentencing decision is reviewed for abuse of discretion.”  De La Cruz v. State, 80 

N.E.3d 210, 213 (Ind. Ct. App. 2017) (quoting Coleman v. State, 61 N.E.3d 390, 

392 (Ind. Ct. App. 2016)).  An abuse of discretion occurs when the sentencing 

decision is clearly against the logic and effect of the facts and circumstances 

before the court, or the reasonable, probable, and actual deductions to be drawn 

therefrom.  Id.  The trial court must impose fees within statutory parameters.  

Berry v. State, 950 N.E.2d 798, 799 (Ind. Ct. App. 2011).   
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[8] The statute governing probation, Indiana Code section 35-38-2-1, provides that 

whenever a trial court places a person on probation, the court is required to, 

among other things, “specify in the record the conditions of probation[.]”  Ind. 

Code § 35-38-2-1(a).   

In addition to any other conditions of probation, the court may 

order each person convicted of a misdemeanor to pay:   

(1) not more than a fifty dollar ($50) initial probation user’s fee; 

(2) a monthly probation user’s fee of not less than ten dollars 

($10) nor more than twenty dollars ($20) for each month that the 

person remains on probation; 

. . . . 

(4) an administrative fee of fifty dollars ($50); 

to either the probation department or the clerk. 

Ind. Code § 35-38-2-1(e).   

[9] “[I]t is the trial court, not the probation department, that has the discretion to 

impose probation fees.”  Burnett v. State, 74 N.E.3d 1221, 1227 (Ind. Ct. App. 

2017).  A probation department may, however, petition a trial court to 

“impose” or “increase” a person’s probation user’s fee “if the financial ability of 

the person to pay a probation user’s fee changes while the person is on 

probation.”  Ind. Code § 35-38-2-1.7(b).   
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[10] Treat argues that the trial court impermissibly delegated its authority to impose 

probation fees to the Probation Department when it adopted the fees included 

in the probation department’s June 1, 2018 memorandum.  In support of her 

argument, Treat cites to several probation fee cases, where the trial court’s 

sentencing order and probation order did not impose probation fees, but the 

probation department later imposed probation fees after sentencing.  See, e.g., De 

La Cruz, 80 N.E.3d at 212-14 (vacating probation fees because the trial court 

imposed a “sliding scale” probation fee calculation that essentially gave the 

probation department the unilateral authority to determine whether the 

defendant would be required to pay probation fees and finding that trial court’s 

“probation order, along with the absence of a clear statement imposing 

probation fees, shows the trial court’s intent not to impose such fees”); Burnett, 

74 N.E.3d at 1227 (vacating probation fees imposed by the probation 

department after sentencing and remanding for further proceedings, where the 

trial court made vague references to “various probation fees that are required” 

and sections of the sentencing order that should have contained fee amounts 

were blacked out); Coleman, 61 N.E.3d at 393-94 (vacating the probation fees 

imposed by the probation department where the sentencing order did not list 

any such fees and the probation order contained “ordered amount” sections 

that were either blacked out or blank).   

[11] We find the present case to be distinguishable from those previous cases.  Here, 

unlike the above cited cases, the probation department did not independently 

impose probation fees on Treat.  At her sentencing hearing, the trial court 
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explicitly stated that Treat would be required to pay “a nominal fee for the non-

reporting probation.”  Tr. Vol. II at 83.  However, although the trial court’s 

sentencing order listed a $50.00 domestic violence prevention fee and a $50.00 

supplemental public defender fee as monetary obligations, it did not contain 

any reference to any additional fees that Treat would be required to pay.  

Appellant’s App. Vol. II at 12.  The day after the sentencing hearing, the 

Probation Department filed a memorandum with the trial court, requesting 

clarification as to whether the trial court wanted to have a $50.00 administrative 

fee and a $170.00 probation user fee assessed.  Id. at 87.  The trial court 

responded by issuing an order for the Probation Department to assess probation 

user fees, which authorized the user fees listed in the Probation Department’s 

memorandum.  Id. at 88.  Therefore, while the trial court relied upon the 

calculations made by the Probation Department, the trial judge, and not a 

probation officer, ultimately made the determination that Treat should pay 

probation fees and entered the order requiring her to pay the fees.  Id.  We 

conclude that the trial court did not delegate its authority to impose probation 

fees and, instead, merely clarified the sentencing order that omitted fees that the 

trial judge had intended to impose originally.  Tr. Vol. II at 83. 

[12] Treat, however, maintains that the only way the trial court could alter its 

sentencing order was by following the procedures outlined in Indiana Code 

Section 35-38-2-1.7(b), which provides that the probation department may 

petition a trial court to impose or increase a probation user’s fees upon a 

showing that the financial ability of the probationer to pay the fees has changed 
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while the person is on probation.  Although section 35-38-1-2.7(b) sets out a 

procedure of how a probation user’s fees can be modified while they are on 

probation, that is not what occurred in the present case.  Here, the day after the 

trial court sentenced Treat to non-reporting probation and informed her that 

there would be a nominal fee for such, the Probation Department sent the trial 

court a memorandum requesting clarification as to whether the trial court 

wished fees to be assessed, not modification of the existing fees based on Treat’s 

ability to pay.  We, therefore, conclude that the trial court did not delegate its 

authority to the Probation Department and did not abuse its discretion when it 

ordered Treat to pay $220.00 in probation fees. 

[13] Affirmed. 

Riley, J., and Robb, J., concur. 

 


