Indiana Lobby Registration Commission Extends First Period Activity Report Filing Deadline to July 15, 2020; Waives Late Fees
In compliance with Governor Holcomb’s Executive Order 20-19, many lobbyists and their clients are working from home because of the coronavirus pandemic. The Indiana Lobby Registration Commission (ILRC) staff is working from home as well. Because of the unprecedented nature of the pandemic and stay-at-home orders issued in Indiana and other states nationwide, many lobbyists registered in Indiana have expressed concern that they will be unable meet the first period activity report filing deadline of May 31, 2020.
Last month, the state, recognizing the severity of the crisis, extended the deadline for filing Indiana income tax returns and paying taxes due until July 15, 2020, conforming Indiana to the filing and payment deadlines earlier announced by the Internal Revenue Service for federal income tax returns.
The ILRC has adopted procedures that allow it to grant extensions of time to file activity reports under extenuating circumstances, and to waive or reduce late fees, if appropriate. In addition, IC 2-7-1.6-5 (b) (8) and (b) (10) give the ILRC the authority to adopt rules and procedures necessary or appropriate to carry out its duties and to do other things necessary and proper to implement the lobby registration statute.
In exercise of that authority, the ILRC extends the deadline for filing first period activity reports (which cover the period from November 1, 2019 to April 30, 2020) to 11:59 p.m. on July 15, 2020, and waives late fees that otherwise might have been imposed for first period activity reports filed between June 1, 2020 and July 15, 2020. The online filing system will reflect these changes. Please note, however, that first period activity reports filed after July 15, 2020, will be subject to the imposition of late fees according to current ILRC policy.
Indiana Lobby Registration Commission
April 9, 2020
Important Notice Beginning June 1, 2011
Late filings - A penalty of $100 per day, but not to exceed $4,500, is imposed for any lobbyist registration or activity report filed after the statutory deadline. The Commission may waive the late filing penalty if it determines that circumstances make imposition of the penalty inappropriate.
Registrations must be completed by Compensated and Employer Lobbyists each year.
Registrations are due November 1
Activity Reporting deadlines for both Compensated and Employer Lobbyists are as follows:
May 1 to October 31 Due November 30 of each year
November 1 to April 30 Due May 31 of each year