Do I need a license to provide goods/services to Indiana Casinos?
Vendors of certain types of equipment, devices, and services to Indiana casino gambling operations must possess a license issued by the Indiana Gaming Commission ("Commission"). The Commission licenses vendors of products or services that directly relate to gaming operations or affect the flow of money obtained as a direct result of gaming operations. The Commission also has the authority to require licensure of any vendor that the commission deems necessary to ensure compliance with applicable gaming laws.
In order to make a determination regarding licensure requirements, the Commission requests that interested vendors submit an Inquiry Form. Click here to go to the Gaming Entity Inquiry Form.
Once Commission staff determines whether a license is required, Commission staff will contact the vendor with further information.
Application Requirements and Fees
An application for a Supplier’s license will not be processed by the Commission unless the Commission has determined that the entity requires a Supplier’s license and the Applicant has an agreement or a statement of intent with a casino licensee.
Applicants for a Supplier’s license must pay a non-refundable application fee of $5,000 that must be submitted with the license application. This fee is applied to the suitability investigation that will be conducted. If the investigation requires additional costs, the Applicant will be notified and will be responsible for those costs.
In addition, all Key Persons and Substantial Owners must complete a Personal Disclosure Form-1 (PD-1) and submit to a suitability investigation. Commission staff will assist an Applicant in identifying which persons and owners will be required to submit a Personal Disclosure Form. Each PD-1 requires a $1,000 application fee. The Key Persons and Substantial Owners must also provide fingerprints for conducting a background investigation. Click here to go to the Occupational Licensing Forms
A permanent license will be granted only if the Applicant is determined to be suitable to hold a license after the investigation is complete. Once a Supplier is determined to be suitable for licensure, a $7,500 permanent license fee must be paid.
A Supplier’s License is valid for one year and must be renewed annually upon payment of a $7,500 annual renewal fee.
Click here to review detailed Gaming Entity Licensing Guidance
Duties of the Licensee
A Supplier’s License does not create a property right but is a revocable privilege granted by the Commission contingent upon continuing suitability for licensure. Supplier Licensees have a duty to notify the Commission of any changes in the information submitted in the licensee’s application. Supplier Licensees are also required to report sales and other information to the Commission regularly in accordance with Indiana gaming laws. If a licensee does not comply with the statutes and regulations governing casino gambling in Indiana, the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action including suspension, revocation of the license, or a civil penalty. Full reporting requirements are included in the Licensing Guidance linked above.