Close Menu

Board Members

The Indiana Charter School Board consists of nine (9) members. The members are appointed by the following elected officials:

  • Governor appoints four members. Not more than two (2) may be members of the same political party;
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction appoints one member with previous experience with or on behalf of charter schools;
  • Senate President Pro Tem appoints one member;
  • Senate Minority Leader appoints one member;
  • Speaker of the House of Representatives appoints one member; and
  • Minority Leader of the House of Representatives appoints one member.

Members appointed by General Assembly leadership cannot be current legislators. Board members, who are appointed to serve four-year terms, are ultimately responsible for the ICSB’s authorizing activities, including decisions to grant, renew and/or revoke a charter.

Jill Robinson Kramer, PhD
Principal Consultant, JRK Consulting

Dr. Jill Robinson Kramer is the Board's Interim Chair and Vice-Chair. She currently works as the principal consultant for JRK Consulting. She most recently served as the Vice President for Operation Strategies at the Strada Education Network. Prior to her service at Strada, Dr. Kramer was the Associate Vice President for Planning and Grants at Ivy Tech Community College. She served as a Senior Program Officer at Lumina Foundation for Education where she was responsible for managing grants and building collaborations of funders and community leaders. Dr. Kramer was also the Associate Director of Special Events for The Hudson Institute in Indianapolis. A graduate of Hanover College, Dr. Kramer also has a Masters in Philanthropic Studies from Indiana University and a PhD in Education Leadership from Indiana State University. She was appointed to the ICSB by Indiana House of Representatives Speaker Brian Bosma.

Virginia Calvin, Ed.D.
Former Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College-North Central


Board Member Dr. Virginia Calvin has served the community as an educator and community leader for over 30 years. In 1993 she was named superintendent of the South Bend Community School Corporation –the first woman and the first African American to hold that position. While serving as superintendent, Dr. Calvin moved the corporation out of a deficit, initiated various programs for at-risk students and increased school campus security. In 2000, Dr. Calvin became chancellor of Ivy Tech Community College-North Central which has campuses in South Bend, Elkhart and Warsaw. As chancellor, she helped expand the college’s mission from a career/technical institution to a full service community college. Calvin’s region was the first to offer the associate of arts degree which benefited students who wanted to complete the first two years of a bachelor’s degree at Ivy Tech and then transfer to a four-year institution. Dr. Calvin was appointed to the ICSB by Governor Mike Pence.

Gretchen Gutman
Vice President of Public Policy, Cook Group

Board Member Gretchen Gutman has worked in government relationship and policy for over 20 years. She currently serves as the Vice President of Public Policy for the Cook Group. Prior to joining the Cook Group, Ms. Gutman was the Associate Vice President for Governmental Relations at Ball State University. Her other experiences include being the chief advisor to the Senate Finance Committee of the Indiana General Assembly as as a partner at Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP. Ms. Gutman earned her bachelor's and master's degrees from Indiana University and her law degree from the Indiana University School of Law in Indianapolis. She was appointed by Senate President Pro Tem David Long.

Janet Rummel
Director of Community Initiatives, Center for Rural Engagement 

Board Member Janet Rummel is the Director of Community Initiatives at the Indiana University Center for Rural Engagement, where she cultivates relationships with stakeholders and leaders in key sectors and communities throughout rural Indiana. Her focus is to develop  and implement initiatives which are collaborative, scalable, and replicable throughout the state and the nation. Janet previously served as Vice President for Workforce Alignment at Ivy Tech Community College and Executive Director of Goodwill Education Initiatives. A 20-year veteran educator, Ms. Rummel has provided consulting services to hundreds of schools and thousands of teachers across the country in the areas of curriculum, instruction, and assessment. Ms. Rummel has also held the positions of Vice President of College and Career Readiness at the Common Core Institute; Mathematics and Science Assessment Specialist at the Indiana Department of Education; and multiple roles at Zionsville Community Schools. Ms. Rummel has a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science and Biology from DePauw University, a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from Indiana University, and she is currently completing a PhD in Curriculum Studies with research interests in alternative teacher certification, multicultural education, and critical pedagogy. Ms. Rummel was appointed to the ICSB by Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Jennifer McCormick.

Beth Bray
Program Officer, K-12 Focus Area, Walton Family Foundation


Board Member Beth Bray has served as a Program Officer with the Walton Family Foundation since 2013. In her role with the Foundation, Beth is responsible for managing K-12 investments in Indianapolis – one of WFF’s thirteen target cities – as well as Arizona and Ohio.  Beth is also actively engaged in the Foundation’s broader investments in charter facilities and public policy. In 2016, Beth led the creation of the Building Equity Initiative, a $250 million strategic investment fund established by the Walton family to help charter schools access affordable facilities. Prior to joining the Foundation, Beth served as the Director of Charter Schools under Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard and was responsible for the oversight of 24 public charter schools. Beth began her career in public policy as a researcher and lobbyist for The Children’s Bureau, a statewide children’s service agency, before joining the charter schools team under former Mayor Bart Peterson in 2007. Beth holds a B.S. from Ball State University and a M.S.W. from Indiana University. She lives in Carmel with her husband and young son. Beth Bray was appointed to the ICSB by Governor Eric Holcomb.

Ellis Dumas III
Vice President of Programs & Outcomes, Boys & Girls Club of Greater Northwest Indiana


Board Member Ellis Dumas III was appointed to the ICSB by Senate Minority Leader Greg Taylor.

MaryAnn Schlegel Ruegger
Attorney at Law

Board Member MaryAnn Schlegel Ruegger was appointed to the ICSB by Indiana House of Representatives Minority Leader Phil GiaQuinta.

Dr. Michelle Gough

Senior Vice-President, Project Lead the Way


Board Member Dr. Michelle Gough was appointed to the ICSB by Governor Eric Holcomb.