Language Translation
  Close Menu

Epochal Portraits

Governors of the Epochal Periods
by Theodore Clement Steele (1847-1926)

In 1916, Indiana's centennial year, Samuel Ralston, then governor, asked Steele to paint the portraits of four governors who belonged to "epochal" periods of the state's history. They were William Henry Harrison, first territorial governor; Jonathan Jennings, first state governor; Oliver Perry Morton, Civil War governor; and Thomas A. Hendricks, an outstanding figure in the period of development following that war.

Governor William Henry Harrison

Governor Jonathan Jennings

 Governor Thomas A. Hendricks

Governor Oliver P. Morton