Language Translation
  Close Menu

Journal of the Convention of the Indiana Territory - complete text

BEGUN and held at the town of Corydon, in the county of Harrison, and territory aforesaid, on the second Monday in June, being the tenth day thereof, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixteen, and of the Independence of the United States, the fortieth; being the time and place appointed for the meeting of the convention for the purpose of forming a constitution and state government, by the act of Congress, entitled, "an act to enable the people of the Indiana territory to form a constitution and state government, and for admission of such state into the Union, on an equal footing with the original states": The following members appeared, who produced certificates of their having been duly chosen to serve in the convention aforesaid, and having severally taken the oath of fidelity to the United States, and also an oath faithfully to discharge the duties of their office, took their seats, to wit:

From the county of Wayne,

Joseph Holman,

Jeremiah Cox,

Patrick Baird,

Hugh Cull.

From the county of Franklin,

Robert Hanna,

James Noble,

James Brownlee,

William H. Eads,

Enoch McCartey.

From the county of Dearborn,

Ezra Ferris,

James Dill,

Solomon Manwaring.

From the county of Switzerland,

William Cotton.

From the county of Jefferson,

David H. Maxwell,

Nathaniel Hunt,

Samuel Smock.

From the county of Clark,

Jonathan Jennings,

James Scott,

Thomas Carr,

John K. Graham,

James Lemon.

From the county of Harrison,

Dennis Pennington,

Davis Floyd,

Daniel C. Lane,

Patrick Shields.

From the county of Washington,

John De Pauw,

William Lowe,

Samuel Millroy,

Robert McIntire,

William Graham.

From the county of Knox,

John Johnson,

John Badollet,

William Polke,

John Bennefield,

From the county of Gibson,

David Robb,

James Smith,

Alexander Devin,

Frederick Rapp.

From the county of Posey,

Dan Lynn.

From the county of Warrick,

Daniel Grass.

From the county of Perry,

Charles Polke.