Language Translation
  Close Menu

Indiana Governor's Sachem Award

Sachem Award Archive: Current | 2020

2021 Sachem Award

On June 25, 2021, Governor Eric J. Holcomb presented the Sachem Award, the State of Indiana’s highest honor, to Jim Morris.

Read Governor Holcomb’s remarks

Read press release


6.24.20 - 2021 Sachem Award
Click here for the full album


Watch the full ceremony

Sachem (Say-chum) background:

In 1970, Gov. Edgar D. Whitcomb introduced the Sachems, a group of business, industry, publishing, banking and legal leaders, who served as state hosts, welcoming visitors to Indiana and promoting the state’s culture and economy. The organization’s name came from the Algonquin term applied to village leaders, implying wisdom, judgment and grace.

Following Whitcomb’s term, the Sachem project was not pursued, and the organization dissolved in 1989. Whitcomb visited Gov. Daniels in 2005 to acquaint him with the concept. Gov. Daniels recreated the Sachem to underscore the importance of moral example; achievement alone without exemplary virtue does not qualify a person for this recognition.

Sixteen Sachem awards have been previously bestowed since the honor was revived in 2005:

2005: John Wooden — Legendary college basketball coach, teacher and mentor

2006: Rev. Theodore Hesburgh — Former president of the University of Notre Dame and world statesman

2007: Jane Blaffer Owen — Philanthropist and preservationist of New Harmony

2008: Bill and Gloria Gaither — Grammy winning singer/songwriter duo from Alexandria, Indiana

2009: Donald C. “Danny” Danielson — New Castle business and civic leader

2010: Carl D. Erskine — Civic leader and legendary baseball player

2011: William A. “Bill” Cook — Philanthropist and cofounder of Cook Inc.

2012: Ian M. Rolland — CEO of Lincoln National Corp.

2013: Don Wolf — Civic leader and CEO of Do It Best, Corp.

2014: P.E. MacAllister — Long-time businessman and civic leader

2015: Amos C. Brown, III — Radio host and civic leader

2016: None

2017: Eva Mozes Kor — Holocaust survivor; forgiveness and civility advocate

2018: Sammy L. Davis — Vietnam veteran, Congressional Medal of Honor recipient

2019: Dr. George Rapp — Humanitarian

2020: Reginald O. Jones, Sr. — Businessman, community leader and mentor.

2021: James T. Morris — Civic leader, global ambassador and advocate for youth.

All Sachem recipients are selected by Indiana’s governor. Each Sachem honoree receives a specially designed sculpture.

Get Email Updates

Page Updates
Email Topics

 Press Release

Click here for more news

 Top FAQs