Header

  Close Menu

Indiana Master Naturalist classes

ABOUT IMN | TAKE A CLASS | SPONSOR A CLASS
GRADUATES | VOLUNTEERS, FORMS & LINKS

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.

Adult IMN Courses

  • Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Two classes March 22-June 7, 2021 (Mondays, 6–9 p.m.) or March 23-June 8, 2021 (Tuesdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Zach Garcia, zach@wesselmanwoods.org or 812-479-0771 x109

  • Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    April 5-28, 2021 (Mondays and Wednesdays, 6:00-9:00 p.m.)
    Contact: Tiffany Parker, tmparker@indianamuseum.org or 260-854-3790
  • Salamonie Lake, Andrews
    Apr. 6- Apr. 25, 2021 (Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Eva Webb, ewebb@dnr.IN.gov or 260-468-2127

  • Indiana Dunes State Park, Chesterton
    April 10-June 12, 2021 (Saturdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Kieran Penning, mcpenning@gmail.com or 219-983-1736
  • Kosciusko County, Warsaw 
    April 22-Nov. 4, 2021 (One Thursday a month, 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or 574-267-7445 x 5374
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    April 24, 2021-Jan. 15 2022 (Fourth Saturday of month, 1- 4:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128
  • Elkhart County SWCD, Goshen
    May 26-July 14, 2021 (Wednesday, 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Jenna Wait, jwait@elkhartcounty.com or 574-523-2033

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • None at this time.

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  • Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Two classes June 7-11, 2021 (Day camp 9 a.m.-4 p.m.) or June 21-25, 2021  (Day camp 9 a.m.-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Zach Garcia, zach@wesselmanwoods.org or 812-479-0771