Language Translation
  Close Menu

Indiana Master Naturalist classes

ABOUT IMN | TAKE A CLASS | SPONSOR A CLASS
GRADUATES | VOLUNTEERS, FORMS & LINKS

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general, each series include sessions related to geology/soils, water, botany, zoology, people and natural resources, and a miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of Classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.

Adult IMN Courses

  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Oct. 2, 2022 - July 2, 2023 (First Sunday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128

  • Sullivan County 4-H Fair Grounds, Sullivan
    Jan. 4 – Feb. 22, 2023 (Wednesdays, 6–9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Bill Spurlin, bspurlin@juno.com or 812-699-1444

  • Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Library, Zionsville - FULL
    Jan. 31 - May 9, 2023 (Tuesdays, 5-8 p.m.)
    Contact: Mindy Murdock, mmurdock@zionsville-in.gov or 317-733-2273

  • O’Bannon Woods State Park, Corydon - FULL
    Feb. 9 - April 13, 2023 (Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Gina Anderson, gmanders@purdue.edu or 812-948-5470

  • Fox Island Alliance, Fort Wayne - FULL
    Feb. 21 - May 20, 2023 (Tuesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Pam George, pamgeorgeph@comcast.net or 260-466-3605

  • Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge, Seymour
    March 1– April 26, 2023 (Wednesdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Donna Stanley, donna_stanley@fws.gov or 812-522-4352 x12

  • Johnson County SWCD Office, Franklin - FULL
    March 2- Oct. 12, 2023 (second Thursday of the month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Blair Beavers, blair-beavers@iaswcd.org or 317-736-9540 x101

  • West Park Pavilion, Carmel (Advanced IMN class for past IMN students only)
    March 2-23, 2023 (Thursdays, 6:30-8:30 pm)
    Contact: Karen La Mere, lamerekaren@gmail.com or 317-752-5444

  • Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Two classes March 6 - May 22, 2023 (Mondays, 6–9 p.m.) or March 7- May 23, 2023 (Tuesdays, 6–9 p.m.)
    Contact: Cindy Cifuentes, cindy@wesselmanwoods.org or 812-479-0771

  • Kosciusko County, Warsaw - FULL
    March 9-Oct. 2, 2023 (Second Thursday a month, 6 - 9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, dzolman@live.com or 574-267-7445 x 3

  • Southeastway Park, Indianapolis - FULL
    March 10-May 5, 2023 (Fridays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Caitlin Stahl, caitlin.stahl@Indy.Gov or 317-327-4834

  • Versailles State Park, Versailles and Clifty Falls State Park, Madison
    March 13 - April 24, 2023 (Mondays, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Jack Wilker, jackwilker@yahoo.com or 812-581-0394

  • Indiana Geological and Water Survey Learning Lab, Bloomington - FULL
    March 21- May 23, 2023 (Tuesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Polly Sturgeon, proot@indiana.edu or 812-855-1378

  • Ouabache State Park, Bluffton
    March 30 – May 25, 2023 (Thursdays, noon-3 p.m.)
    Contact: Jody Heaston, jheaston@dnr.IN.gov or 463-203-6562

  • Salamonie Lake, Andrews
    Apr. 11- 29, 2023 (Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday afternoons)
    Contact: Alyssa Linder, alinder@dnr.IN.gov or 260-468-2127

  • Pokagon State Park, Angola- FULL
    April 19 - June 10, 2023 (Wednesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Aimee Wentworth, steubenswcd@gmail.com or 260-665-3211 x3

  • Elkhart County SWCD, Goshen
    May 25-Aug. 3, 2023 (Thursdays, 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Jenna Wait, jwait@elkhartcounty.com or 574-523-2033

  • Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
    Aug. 3 -Sept. 28, 2023  (Thursdays,  6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Leslie Lorance, Leslie.Lorance@indy.gov or 317-327-7148

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • Elkhart County Parks, Bristol
    March 7-28, 2023 (Tuesdays, 12:30-5:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Krista Daniels, kdaniels@elkhartcounty.com or 574-875-7422

  • Ouabache State Park, Bluffton
    June 5-9, 2023 (Day Camp, Daily, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Jody Heaston, jheaston@dnr.IN.gov or 463-203-6562

  • Merry Lea Environmental Center, Albion/Gene Stratton-Porter SHS, Rome City
    July 17-21, 2023 (Day Camp, Daily, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Kaitlyn Sproles, KWSproles@goshen.edu or 260-799-5869 or http://goshen.edu/merrylea/imn

  • Salamonie Lake, Andrews
    Oct. 20, 2022- May 18, 2023 (Third Thursdays, 1-3 p.m.)
    Alyssa Linder, alinder@dnr.IN.gov or 260-468-2127

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  • Ouabache State Park, Bluffton
    June 5-9, 2023 (Day Camp, Daily, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Jody Heaston, jheaston@dnr.IN.gov or 463-203-6562

  • Merry Lea Environmental Center, Albion/Gene Stratton-Porter SHS, Rome City
    July 17-21, 2023 (Day Camp, Daily, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Kaitlyn Sproles, KWSproles@goshen.edu or 260-799-5869 or http://goshen.edu/merrylea/imn

 Upcoming Events

More Events

 Top FAQs