Header

  Close Menu

Staff & Offices

For inquiries about coal mining and land restoration in Indiana these points of contact will take you directly to a specific program area:

Active mining and reclamation, or permit applications under review. These activities are under authority of, and enforced by current State and federal laws enacted under the federal Surface Mining and Control Act of 1977 (SMCRA): 812-665-2207 or Toll Free when calling inside the State of Indiana 1-800-772-6463.

Historical mining activity, and sites mined but abandoned without complete restoration. These sites typically were affected prior to the adoption of current laws and standards for reclamation. They might include open mine shafts, coal refuse piles, abandoned structures and equipment and additional mine related features or impacts: AbandonedMinesRestoration@dnr.IN.gov.

Consultants and contractors interested in design or construction of abandoned mine land reclamation projects may click here for more information. If you have questions or wish to provide additional information you may contact construction supervisors here: amlconstruction@dnr.IN.gov

The Division of Reclamation has always considered public participation and communication exchange as vital to our mission. Our commitment is a response to any inquiry within three working days.

Jasonville Office
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
Phone: 812-665-2207
Toll free (within Indiana): 800-772-6463
Fax: 812-665-5041
Office Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
NameTitlePhoneEmail
Steve Weinzapfel Director, Division of Reclamation ext 4077 sweinzapfel@dnr.IN.gov
Patty Beard Administrative Assistant/AVS Coordinator ext 4078 pbeard@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Clerical Support ext 4090  
Shanda Messmer Clerical Support ext 4091 smessmer@dnr.IN.gov
Technical Services - Inspection & Enforcement
Vacant Assistant Director, Support Services ext 4072  
Jayne Peltier Coal Tech Section Supervisor/Permit Coordinator ext 4038 jpeltier1@dnr.IN.gov
Todd Huff Hydrogeologist ext 4085 thuff@dnr.IN.gov
Luke Sweet Bond Coordinator ext 4063 lsweet@dnr.IN.gov
Paul Davis Mining Engineer ext 4062 pdavis2@dnr.IN.gov
Eunmok Lee GIS Inventory Specialist ext 4079 elee1@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Archaeologist ext 4092  
Vacant Wildlife Biologist ext 4089  
Vacant Hydrogeologist ext 4088  
Vacant Hydrogeologist ext 4087  
Inspection and Enforcement
Phyllis Hart Field/Blasting Supervisor ext 4060 phart@dnr.IN.gov
John Voigt Mine Inspector ext 4065 jvoigt@dnr.IN.gov
Clay Dayson Mine Inspector  cdayson@dnr.IN.gov
Jeanne Lorenzo Mine Inspector  jlorenzo@dnr.IN.gov
Jamie Brown Mine Inspector ext 4058 jabrown3@dnr.IN.gov
Abandoned Mine Lands (AML)
Kit Turpin Director, Abandoned Mine Lands ext 4034 cturpin@dnr.IN.gov
Gayla Reedy Secretary ext 4011 greedy@dnr.IN.gov
Andy Ripley Emergency Coordinator/Field Operation Coordinator/Technical Mgmt. Supervisor ext 4018 aripley@dnr.IN.gov
Chris Hostetler, P.E. Chief Engineer/Engineering Supervisor ext 4029 chostetler@dnr.IN.gov
Shawn Clifford, P.E. Hydraulic Engineer ext 4028 sclifford@dnr.IN.gov
Randy Tabler Survey Project Manager ext 4030 rtabler@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Project Manager Supervisor ext 4033  
Jay Akes, LPG Project Manager ext 4031 rakes@dnr.IN.gov
Greg Ubelhor Project Manager ext 4010 gubelhor@dnr.IN.gov
Vacant Water Quality Specialist ext 4013  
Vacant Environmental Specialist/Site Investigator ext 4016  
Vacant Project Manager/Realty Coordinator ext 4035  
Vacant Project Manager ext 4012  
Vacant Hydraulic Engineer ext 4027  
Operations Service
Kim Tibbett Assistant Director, Operations ext 4069 Ktibbett@dnr.IN.gov
Shasta Keller Purchasing Administrator ext 4039 slkeller@dnr.IN.gov
Kelli Zsebehazy Bond Recorder ext 4082 kzsebehazy@dnr.IN.gov
Tim Elliott Program Director-Fleet Building Coordinator ext 4068 telliott@dnr.in.gov

DNR News

DNR News

More News

Top FAQs