Close Menu

Staff & Offices

For inquiries about coal mining and land restoration in Indiana these points of contact will take you directly to a specific program area:

Active mining and reclamation, or permit applications under review. These activities are under authority of, and enforced by current State and federal laws enacted under the federal Surface Mining and Control Act of 1977 (SMCRA): 812-665-2207 or Toll Free when calling inside the State of Indiana 1-800-772-6463.

Historical mining activity, and sites mined but abandoned without complete restoration. These sites typically were affected prior to the adoption of current laws and standards for reclamation. They might include open mine shafts, coal refuse piles, abandoned structures and equipment and additional mine related features or impacts: AbandonedMinesRestoration@dnr.IN.gov.

Consultants and contractors interested in design or construction of abandoned mine land reclamation projects may click here for more information. If you have questions or wish to provide additional information you may contact construction supervisors here: amlconstruction@dnr.IN.gov

The Division of Reclamation has always considered public participation and communication exchange as vital to our mission. Our commitment is a response to any inquiry within three working days.

Jasonville Office
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
Phone: 812-665-2207
Toll free (within Indiana): 800-772-6463
Fax: 812-665-5041
Office Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Steve WeinzapfelDirector, Division of Reclamationext 4077sweinzapfel@dnr.IN.gov
Patty BeardAdministrative Assistant/AVS Coordinatorext 4078pbeard@dnr.IN.gov
Technical Services
Pete SartorisAssistant Director,
Technical Services/Inspection & Enforcement
ext 4073psartoris@dnr.IN.gov
Teri MaddoxSecretaryext 4090tmaddox@dnr.IN.gov
VacantHydrogeologistext 4087 
Todd HuffHydrogeologistext 4085thuff@dnr.IN.gov
Jayne PeltierWater Quality Specialist/Permit Coordinatorext 4038jpeltier1@dnr.IN.gov
Alan KernMining Engineerext 4062akern@dnr.IN.gov
VacantWildlife Biologistext 4089 
Shelby ValenzaHydrogeologistext 4088sjohnston@dnr.IN.gov
Inspection and Enforcement
Kevin GeierField Supervisorext 4060kgeier@dnr.IN.gov
Shanda MessmerSecretary/Recordsext 4091smessmer@dnr.IN.gov
John VoigtMine Inspectorext 4065jvoigt@dnr.IN.gov
Luke SweetMine Inspector lsweet@dnr.IN.gov
Clay DaysonMine Inspector cdayson@dnr.IN.gov
Jeanne LorenzoMine Inspector jlorenzo@dnr.IN.gov
VacantMine Inspector  
Jamie BrownMine Inspectorext 4058jabrown3@dnr.IN.gov
Support Services
Brock MayesAssistant Director, Support Servicesext 4072bmayes@dnr.IN.gov
VacantArchaeologistext 4092 
Todd SellersBond Coordinatorext 4081tsellers@dnr.IN.gov
Eunmok LeeGIS Specialistext 4079elee1@dnr.IN.gov
Phyllis HartBlasting Specialistext 4051phart@dnr.IN.gov
Paul DavisBlasting Specialistext 4061pdavis2@dnr.IN.gov
Restoration - Abandoned Mine Lands (AML)
VacantDirector, Abandoned Mine Landsext 4034Vacant
Gayla ReedySecretaryext 4011greedy@dnr.IN.gov
Andy RipleyEmergency Coordinator/Field Operation Coordinator/Technical Mgmt. Supervisorext 4018aripley@dnr.IN.gov
Peter BurchWater Quality Specialistext 4013pburch@dnr.IN.gov
Hannah WalkerEnvironmental Specialist/Site Investigatorext 4016hwalker1@dnr.IN.gov
Chris Hostetler, P.E.Chief Engineer/Engineering Supervisorext 4029chostetler@dnr.IN.gov
VacantHydraulic Engineerext 4027 
Shawn Clifford, P.E.Hydraulic Engineerext 4028sclifford@dnr.IN.gov
Randy TablerSurvey Project Managerext 4030rtabler@dnr.IN.gov
Kit TurpinProject Manager Supervisorext 4033cturpin@dnr.IN.gov
Jay Akes, LPGProject Managerext 4031rakes@dnr.IN.gov
Greg UbelhorProject Managerext 4010gubelhor@dnr.IN.gov
Bob JonesProject Manager/Realty Coordinatorext 4035bcjones@dnr.IN.gov
VacantProject Managerext 4012 
Operation Services
Kim TibbettAssistant Director, Operationsext 4069Ktibbett@dnr.IN.gov
Shasta KellerPurchasing Administratorext 4039slkeller@dnr.IN.gov
VacantPurchasing Administratorext 4094 
Kelli ZsebehazyBond Recorderext 4082kzsebehazy@dnr.IN.gov