Language Translation
  Close Menu

Commission on Indiana’s Legal Future

Purpose |  Members |  Contact


The Commission on Indiana’s Legal Future was created by order of the Supreme Court to explore options for addressing Indiana’s attorney shortage and present findings and recommendations to the Court on future actions. The Commission is directed to provide a written report, with findings and recommendations, to the Court by July 1, 2025, and to the extent recommendations may include legislative changes or funding, the Commission is directed to provide an interim report limited to those requests by August 1, 2024.

The Commission’s work is divided into five work groups, each incorporating a broad spectrum of relevant professional expertise.

  • Business & Licensure Models

    Identify ways in which the current law firm business model and professional regulations can be improved to meet the needs of modern and future practice and make recommendations on alternative legal licensure models.

  • Pathways to Admission & Education

    Identify and make recommendations on models for alternative pathways to legal practice in Indiana and on models to strengthen and streamline connections between secondary, undergraduate, and law school institutions.

  • Incentivizing Rural Practice

    Identify and make recommendations on ways to connect law students, practitioners, and other legal professionals to business and professional opportunities within rural communities.

  • Incentivizing Public Service Work

    Identify and make recommendations on ways to promote interest in public-service-oriented legal work, including in the criminal justice system, in family services, in civil legal aid, and in local, county, and state government.

  • Technology Applications

    Identify and make recommendations on ways to safely and ethically utilize emerging technologies, such as generative artificial intelligence and online dispute resolution, to fill gaps in legal representation.


Hon. Nancy Vaidik, Co-Chair
Court of Appeals of Indiana

Justin Forkner, Co-Chair
Chief Administrative Officer, Indiana Supreme Court

Dean Karen Bravo (or designee)
IU-McKinney School of Law

Rep. Ed Delaney
Indiana House District 86

Senator Sue Glick
Indiana Senate District 13

Elizabeth Green
General Counsel, Indiana Department of Workforce Development

Emily Guenin-Hodson
Guenin Law Office, PC

Prof. Bill Henderson
IU-Maurer School of Law

Angela Jones
The Law Office of Angela M. Jones, LLC

Amy Karozos
State Public Defender

Jon Laramore
Indiana Legal Services

Jeremy Morris
Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Michael Nossett
Deputy General Counsel, Office of the Governor

Dean Christiana Ochoa (or designee)
IU-Maurer School of Law

Lara O’Dell
Program Chair, Legal and Paralegal Studies, Ivy Tech Indianapolis

Kathy Osborn
Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP

Robert Rath
Chief Innovation Officer, Indiana Supreme Court

Hon. Hunter Reece
Warren Circuit Court

Bradley Skolnik
Executive Director, Office of Admissions & Continuing Education

Rep. Greg Steuerwald
Indiana House District 40

Sen. Greg Taylor
Indiana Senate District 33

Hon. Leanna Weissmann
Court of Appeals of Indiana

Josh Woodward
Counsel to Chief Justice Rush


Leah McGee
Indiana Office of Judicial Administration

 Top FAQs