Close Menu

Driver Education

Driving Training School Closures

The following vendors are closed for the health and safety of their employees and customers during the COVID-19 outbreak:

  • Excel Driving Instruction – Valparaiso

We apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back for updates.

closed sign

Driver Education

Learning to drive can be a fun and exciting time in life! Driving is a complex skill that is developed over time with practice and requires the basic knowledge of operating a motor vehicle. Below you will find information for parents and teens regarding driver education, obtaining a learner’s permit, and Indiana’s Graduated Driver’s License System.

The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles certifies driver training schools and instructors who demonstrate knowledge of the laws and regulations about driving in Indiana. In the sections below, you will find a list of licensed driver training schools, as well as information on the requirements and instructions to become a licensed driver training school or instructor.

Teen Drivers and Parents

Frequently Asked Questions

Licensed Driver Training Schools

Driver Training Instructor Resources and Classes

Teen Drivers and Parents

Father handing car keys to his daughterA driver training program consists of 30 hours of classroom training and six hours of behind-the-wheel training with a BMV-licensed driver training school.

Online training is available as an alternative to classroom training, but students will still be responsible for the six behind-the-wheel hours. You may complete online training before enrolling at a licensed driver training school for behind-the-wheel training, but you should first confirm that your preferred driver training school will accept the online training program you have selected. See the below for a list of licensed driver training schools and information on course offerings.

The BMV provides the following resources for teen drivers and their parents to help prepare for how to obtain an Indiana driver’s license:

Frequently Asked Questions

For Parents...

For Students...

Licensed Driver Training Schools

Student driver learning to park

The following driver training schools are licensed by the BMV to provide driver education:

Licensed Driver Training Schools

If you have concerns about a driver training school or one of their instructors, please report it to the bureau by email.

Email the BMV

Driver Training Instructor Resources and Classes

Driver Education Examiner Deadline Extensions

In accordance with Governor Holcomb's Executive Orders 20-02 and 20-05, the following changes apply for the application and renewal process for Driver Education Examiners in 2020:

  1. The renewal application deadline will be extended 60 days from May 1, 2020 to June 30, 2020.
  2. Certifications expiring on June 30, 2020 will be extended for 60 days, now expiring on August 29, 2020.
  3. The Driver Training School Instructor Physical Examination State Form 53312 will not be required to submit a renewal.
  4. The fingerprint-based full national criminal background check of each of the school's owners dated within 90 days of the application may be substituted with a limited criminal background check from the Indiana State Police.
important notice

All aspects of driver education instruction are outlined in the Indiana Administrative Code (IAC) 140 IAC 4. IAC sets the standards and requirements for all driver education training schools and instructors.

Indiana Administrative Code 140 IAC 4

Licensing and Forms

Driver Training School Instructor Classes

One education option to meet the requirements to be licensed as a driver training school instructor in Indiana is to complete 51 college credit hours and nine (9) college credit hours of approved driver education courses. Contact the following university to complete this instructor training requirement:

Indiana State University
Dr. Matt Hutchins
Associate Professor
Department of Applied Health Sciences
812-237-3108 or 812-237-3079

Bureau Approved Instructor Training Program

The second education option available to meet the requirements to be licensed as a driver training school instructor in Indiana is to complete 10 hours of classroom training and complete 20 hours of behind-the-wheel training instruction.

The following programs are approved by the BMV to provide instructor training:

Bureau Approved Instructor Training Programs

Requests to become an approved instructor training program must submit the following:

  1. Application for Instructor Training Program - State Form 56758
  2. Detailed description of program and courses
  3. Copy of all course materials that provide at least minimum standards for classroom training under 140 IAC 4-4-1.1
  4. Sample copy of completion certificate that will be provided upon training completion containing the following information:
    • Name of Instructor Training Program
    • Statement of training completion:
      “The trainee has completed at least 10 hours of training that meets the standards set forth in 140 IAC 4-4-1.1.”
    • Full name of trainee
    • Driver’s license number of trainee
    • Date training completed
    • Signature of Instructor Training Program representative
  5. Any other information requested by the bureau that is necessary to determine whether the applicant meets the requirements for approval.

The application for the program will be processed within 60 days of the Bureau receiving the completed application. Approvals for Instructor Training Programs shall remain valid for a period of four years.

Upon completion of instructor training...

The 20 hours of behind-the-wheel training will be provided by an Indiana licensed Driver Training School and must provide training pertaining to 140 IAC 4-4-1.2. Once the trainee has completed the program, the Driver Training School must provide the trainee with proof of completion on school’s letterhead containing the following information:

  1. Name of Indiana licensed Driver Training School; and
  2. Statement of training completion:
    “The trainee has completed the 20 hours of behind-the-wheel training instruction that meets the standards sets forth in 140 IAC 4-4-1.2.”
  3. Full name of trainee
  4. Driver’s license number of trainee
  5. Date training completed
  6. Name of each Driver Training Instructor that participated in training
  7. Signature of school owner or instructor

Information may be submitted to the Bureau at DriverEducation@bmv.IN.gov.

Still Have Questions?

Send us an email about driver education programs.

Email Us