Main Content


Learner's Permits & Driver's Licenses Overview

Learner's Permit
A learner’s permit allows Indiana residents to practice driving before obtaining a driver’s license.

New Residents
If you are a new Indiana resident who has a valid driver's license from another state or foreign country, you do not have to hold a learner's permit to obtain an Indiana driver's license.

Probationary Driver's License 
If you are under the age of 21 when you obtain your Indiana driver's license, your license is considered probationary until you turn 21 years old.

Driver's License
If you are 21 years of age or older when you obtain your Indiana driver's license, your license is not probationary.

Requirements to Renew an Expired Driver's License

If your license has been expired for less than 180 days

You will have to pay a $6 administrative penalty fee

You will have to pass a standard vision screening

If your license has been expired for 180 days to 3 years

You will have to pay a $6 administrative penalty fee

You will have to pass a knowledge examination and standard  vision screening

If your license has been expired for more than 3 years

You will have to pay a $6 administrative penalty fee

You will have to pass a knowledge examination, driving  skills exam and standard vision screening

Obtain a RealID Driver’s License and ID Cards before 2020

  • A Real ID is a type of credential that satisfies federal and state requirements for the issuance of licenses, permits, and ID cards. These credentials provide greater protection in preventing fraud and identity theft. The BMV will only issue new applicants a Real ID, but we recommend that all Hoosiers upgrade to a RealID as soon as it is practical to do so. Below are a series of topics that will help you understand what Real ID is and how to obtain one.
  • Learn more about Real ID Credentials

Organ Donation
You can register your decision to become an organ and tissue donor when renewing or updating your driver’s license. You can also register to become a donor at any time by visiting Donate Life Indiana. If you are under the age of 18, you need a parent or guardian’s permission and signature. To find out more about organ and tissue donation please click here.

Endorsements and restrictions
Endorsements and restrictions change the circumstances in which an individual may operate a motor vehicle. Some restrictions also apply to identification cards.

State to State (S2S) Credential Verification

To combat the problem of identity theft, the Indiana BMV continues to enhance the security of how driver’s license, learner’s permits, and identification cards are issued.

The BMV uses the State Pointer Exchange Service (SPEXS). SPEXS allows the BMV to verify if you hold a driver’s license, learner’s permit, or identification card in another participating state. A SPEXS check will occur each time you are issued a new, renewed, amended, or replaced driver's license, learner's permit, or identification card.

Active Military and Veteran Indicator

If you are on active duty in, or a Veteran of, the United States Armed Forces you may choose to add an indicator to your credential.

Amending a Driver’s License

Amending a driver’s license: If any personal information (name, date of birth, gender, or address) has legally changed, you will need to amend the information at any BMV branch.

Renewing or Replacing a Driver's License

You may renew or replace your driver's license online if:

  •  your name and address have remained the same since the last time you received a license;
  • you are not required to take an examination;  and
  • your previous renewal transaction was completed in a license branch.

You will need to provide your name, date of birth, residential address and Social Security number in order to renew or replace your driver's license online.

If you are in the military or if your spouses or children need a replacement driver’s license, please visit our Military Families page.

Renewing or Replacing a Learner's Permit

You may obtain a renewed learner’s permit once your current permit expires, or replace one that is lost or stolen, by visiting a BMV branch and presenting certain documents of identification. If you are visiting a branch to renew your learner’s permit,, you may need to retake your knowledge examination.

Related Forms