Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Applications for an Initial License
Effective January 1, 2016 IC 9-32-11-2
Sec. 2. (a) An application for a license under this chapter must:
(1) be accompanied by payment of the applicable fee required
under IC 9-29-17;
Automotive Mobility Dealers
Auto Salvage Recyler
Boat Dealer License
Wholesale to Used Transition Update
If you were a licensed wholesale dealer on or before June 30, 2015 and were approved to transition to a used dealer license, you must submit an update on your progress towards compliance with the requirements for a used dealer license every 120 days. The form to report the updates is SF 55659 (R / 11-15) Click here. In order to continue the transition, this form must be completed every 120 days until your transition is completed.
Alert – Fines and Enforcement Actions Policy (11.25.2015)
The Auto Dealer Services Division has added a new policy on fines that may be imposed and enforcement actions that may be taken as a result of violations found. The new policy document is called “Fines and Enforcement Actions” and it can be found my clicking on the “Guidance Document tab on the left hand side of the screen. It can then be found under the “Policy Documents” section.
Alert- Dealer Bond Update (10.2.2015)
In order to maintain a dealer license issued by the Indiana Secretary of State, Auto Dealer Services Division,
a dealer must provide evidence of a bond in the amount of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) that is in favor of the Secretary of State and secures payment of fines, penalties, costs, and fees assessed by the Secretary.
The Secretary of State Auto Dealer Services Division has begun using a new bond form. This new bond form is State Form 53966 (R5/6-15). This is the same form number as the previous bond form, but an updated version.
All dealers licensed by the Auto Dealer Services Division will be required to update their bonds to this new bond form. Dealers will have until their 2017 renewal date to comply with this requirement. When updating your bond, please ensure you are using the (R5/6-15) version of the bond form.
If you have any questions about this notice, please contact the Division at email@example.com or (317) 234-7190.
Alert - New Guidance Documents
The Auto Dealer Services Division has added new documents in an effort to assist dealers with frequently asked quesitons. We highly encourage all dealers to review these documents. They may be found by clicking on the "Guidance Documents" tab on the left hand side of this screen.
Alert - AutoCycles
The Indiana General Assembly passed legislation this year regarding “autocycles.” This law became effective upon passage, and defines “autocycle” as:
A three (3) wheeled motor vehicle in which the operator and passenger ride in a completely or partially enclosed seating area that is equipped with a rollcage/roll hoops, safety belts for each occupant, and antilock brakes, and is designed to be controlled with a steering wheel and pedals.
The definition of “motorcycle” was amended to include an” autocycle”.
Therefore, anyone selling twelve (12) or more motorcycles, which includes “autocycles”, per year, must have a valid dealer license from the Secretary of State. If you have any questions, please contact the Auto Dealer Services Division at 317-234-7190.
Motor Driven Cycles (MDC), Motor Scooters, Mopeds and Motorcycles
As of January 1, 2015, new laws went into effect regarding the licensing and registration of Motor Driven Cycles (MDC), previously referred to as motor scooter, mopeds and motorized bicycles. Licensing and registration requirements for MDCs can be found at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles website: www.in.gov/bmv/3220.htm.
Dealers of Motorcycles or MDCs who sell at least twelve (12) units per year are required to obtain a dealer license from the Indiana Secretary of State Dealer Services Division. Information regarding dealer licensing can be found at: www.in.gov/sos/dealer.
MDC dealers who sell units under 50cc can elect to become a licensed dealer.
Licensed motorcycle dealers can purchase interim motorcycle plates and request MDC-A or MDC-B decals from the Dealer Services Division, which will allow their properly licensed customers to operate their MDC prior to registering it with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. To request MDC-A or MDC-B decals, please contact the Auto Dealer Services Division at 317-234-7190 or Dealers@sos.in.gov.
APPLICATION FOR REPLACEMENT OR DUPLICATE DEALER PLATES
Please click here to access the Application
ALERT - Dealer Bond Requirements
Please read updated requirements here
ALERT - From the Indiana State Police
National Criminal History Background Checks must be submitted with all NEW license applications. (Indiana Code 9-32-16-11(d))
Click Here to learn more
OUR LAWS HAVE MOVED TO NEW CODE LOCATION AND CITATION – CLICK HERE
ADSD Main Line: 317-234-7190
Auto Dealer Services Staff
Title Melissa Reynolds ADSD Director
ADSD Senior Counsel
Licensing & Compliance Manager
ADSD Enforcement Attorney
Rebecca Kimmerling Rkimmerling@sos.in.gov
Sherri Van Hook
Central – West
Central – East