- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana State Library

Library > Collections > Indiana Collection > Indiana State Documents Indiana State Documents

The Indiana Division collects Indiana State Documents both for its own collection and for distribution to depository libraries throughout Indiana. A State Document is created and published by a state agency for the express purpose of making information public. Included in the Indiana State Documents Collection are annual reports, newsletters, directories, bulletins, laws, regulations, maps, and pamphlets.  Note: State Documents do not include records such as files, memos, manuals, or correspondence, which are unpublished and created for internal agency use. Contact the Indiana State Archives to inquire about the records of various state agencies.  

The Indiana Division is also responsible for compiling the quarterly and cumulative Checklist of Indiana State Documents. To obtain your own copies of current State Documents, contact the agency which published them. The State Library generally cannot provide copies for patrons to keep, but it may be able to lend copies, depending on its collection usage guidelines. Many state agencies, boards, and commissions publish their recent documents online. Additionally, some documents have been digitized, with links provided here:

Patrons or State Agencies with questions about the Checklist, the Documents Depository Act of 1973 (IC 4-23-7.1-25 et seq.) or about sending publications to the State Library should contact the State Documents Coordinator at 317-232-3729 or by email,  

Depository Libraries in Indiana

Indiana state documents are distributed to the following libraries on a regular basis.

  • Bloomington: Indiana University
  • Columbus: Bartholomew County Public Library
  • Evansville: Evansville-Vanderburgh County Public Library
  • Fort Wayne: Allen County Public Library
  • Kokomo: Indiana University-Kokomo Library
  • Muncie: Alexander M. Bracken Library, Ball State University
  • New Albany: New Albany-Floyd County Public Library
  • Richmond: Morrison-Reeves Public Library
  • South Bend: Saint Joseph County Public Library
  • Terre Haute: Cunningham Memorial Library, Indiana State University
  • Valparaiso: Christopher Center for Library and Information Resources
  • West Lafayette: Humanities, Social Science & Education Library, Purdue University


Checklist of State Documents

Resources for Finding Indiana Government Documents

State Documents Disposal List (for State Depository Libraries’ Use)

Friday Facts

Document of the Month

State Agency Spotlight

IN AG 12-2-2014