IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Law Enforcement Academy

ILEA > Bulletin Board > Latest Information from ILEA Latest Information from ILEA

Subscribe for e-mail updates

3rd Annual Training Coordinator’s Conference

Hosted by: the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy

On behalf of the Law Enforcement Training Board, the staff at the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy invite Indiana’s certified training coordinators and instructors to our 3rd Annual Training Coordinator’s Conference on November 12th and 13th

Our staff has worked very hard to make this year’s conference better than ever.  After attending, we believe you will have some valuable new tools and information that you can use in your department as well as share with surrounding agencies. 

This year’s curriculum is focused towards Officer Well being and will provide 14 hours of in-service training with absolutely no enrollment fee.

We are expecting even more sponsors and vendors this years, and as always, there will be a number of valuable door prizes, gifts and handouts.  Come to learn!  Come to network!  Come to see what is new!

You can now register through Acadis, course number 201435, but remember, seats are limited.

Click here for the Day 1 Schedule.

Click here for the Day 2 Schedule.

Mandated In-Service Training

Mental Illness, Addiction & Disabilities IC 5-2-1-9(g)

Autism, Alzheimer’s, Dementia, Endangered IC 5-2-1-9(g)
Adults & High Risk Missing Persons (including those under 21 years of age)

Human Trafficking (8 areas) and IC 5-2-1-9(g) & IC 5-2-1-9(a)(10)

Annual In-service Training Requirement IC 5-2-1-9(g)
Presently 24 hours annually – must include 2 hours in firearms, 2 hours in physical tactics/use of force and 2 hours in police vehicle operation

Officers should receive some training in all of the IC 5-2-1-9 requirements each year. The areas specifically required in IC 5-2-1-9 can be used to partially satisfy the 24-hour requirement.

Under state/county/local continuing education laws:
Domestic, Child Abuses, SIDS, CPR, Heimlich Maneuver, and others
State: IC 5-2-8-5(e)(1-17)
County: IC 5-2-8-1(h)(1-19)
Local: IC 5-2-8-2(f)(1-18)

Departments should be prepared to show that officers are competent in these areas although these do not necessarily require annual training.

Federal :
NIMS (DHS, required for DHS grants)
Bloodborne Pathogens (EPA, 29 CFR 1910.1030)
Hazardous Materials (EPA & OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.120)
Familiarization with Reflective Clothing Rule (DOT 23, CFR 634)

ILEA – 8/1/2014

ILEA Physical Fitness Standards Testing Protocol Video Now On-Line!

A new video demonstrating proper technique and typical protocol violations that occur during testing is now ready for viewing on-line. This video, which is presented by the ILEA's Lt. Steve Guthrie, is recommended to all students prior to training for the fitness test.

Lt. Guthrie is assisted by several officers from different deparments, including: Troy Torrence & Jennifer Holt - ISP, Kristen Sprunger - Grant Co. SD, Jennifer Fults & Emily Peek – State Excise Police, Bruce Barnes - Noblesville PD & Michael Anderson – Anderson PD.

Click here to find the video on our Physical Fitness Standards page
 

Continuing Education Hours - 2014

Over the years, there has been some confusion on who can teach the Indiana Law Enforcement Training Boards (LETB) two (2) hour mandatory training requirements for EVO, Firearms and Physical Tactics (PT). If the material being presented is either technical or skills based, then this material needs to be taught by a psychomotor skills instructor who is certified in that particular psychomotor skill regardless of whether this is taught in a classroom or practical skills session.

A non-psychomotor skills instructor such as an attorney can discuss recent case law as it relates to police pursuits and an LETB certified Primary Instructor can discuss department Standard Operating Procedures (SOP’s) on pursuit driving or other use of force related SOP’s.

Beginning in 2014, we are going to ask our records personnel to pay particular attention as to whether these classes are presented by an LETB certified psychomotor skills instructor or a primary instructor when these training reports are submitted.

New On-line Report Writing Modules Now Available!

For those needing a few hours to complete your 2013 in-service requirement, do not forget the on-line Report Writing modules. A new module ["Using Mind Mapping" 45 Min. (10.01 CSV015)] was recently posted.

In addition, prior Basic students who have graduated within the last two years also have a” Writing Improvement Program” for department or individual use included within the Basic Course Report Writing Materials that they were issued while at the Academy. This material is designed to be easily adapted by department LETB instructors to be usable for satisfying part of the annual in-service requirement.

Check out all of our on-line training at: http://www.in.gov/ilea/2472.htm.  

Updated Crime Scene Investigation Manual Now Available

An updated edition of the very popular Crime Scene Investigation: A Guide for Law Enforcement is now available. The Guide discusses the fundamental principles of investigating a crime scene and preserving evidence and contains everything you need to know in order to yield reliable information.

Originally released in 2000, the updated version is intended for use by law enforcement and other responders who have responsibilities for protecting crime scenes, preserving physical evidence, and collecting and submitting the evidence for scientific examination. The Bureau of Justice Assistance funded the effort to update the Guide. The day-to-day work was done by the National Forensic Science and Technology Center.

To read or download the updated version of Crime Scene Investigation: A Guide for Law Enforcement click here

Indiana Law Enforcement Academy Associates

ILEAA is an alumni-style organization which was created primarily to support training at the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy through contributions and equipment purchases.

The ILEAA is also empowered to provide assistance to the other Law Enforcement Training Board (LETB) academies. The ILEAA Board of Directors is entirely composed of academy graduates, one from each of the seven (7) basic training academies (ILEA, ISP, IMPD, NILEA, SWILEA, IU and Fort Wayne).

If you value your academy experience and would like to support future academy improvements, the Executive Committee of the ILEAA invites you to become a member.

Voting membership is offered to those who have graduated from one of the LETB approved basic training academies, but Associate and Sustaining (business) memberships are also available.

For further information or an application, please visit the ILEAA webpage. Then send your membership application to the ILEAA, care of the Community Foundation of Morgan County by downloading the application and mailing a hardcopy along with your $25.00 annual membership fee to:

ILEAA c/o CFOMC
56 N. Main Street
Martinsville, IN 46151

History, Creation and Function of the ILEAA:
The possibility of creating an alumni association was first discussed in earnest in 2010, but the concept had been considered decades earlier. After several years of deep budget cuts, much of the training equipment at ILEA was in serious disrepair. A method for replacing some of this equipment outside of the normal budgeting process was badly needed. It was at that time that several ILEA staff members began investigating how an alumni association could help.

During the early discussions, the possibility of an association which was directly attached to the Academy was investigated. It was then determined that a better approach might be to create a totally independent association with the core purposes of supporting the basic training function, purchasing equipment and providing instructor training for all of the academies.

By its final signing ceremony, on November 1, 2012, the ILEAA had its bylaws further modified to allow for partnering with a not-for-profit community foundation. The Community Foundation of Morgan County was ultimately chosen. With the ILEAA partnering with the Community Foundation of Morgan County, most contributions will immediately be tax deductible including the $25.00 membership fee.

The staff and instructors at the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy are excited about how this Association could potentially make major contributions to upgrading equipment and supporting training endeavors. They invite you to join them if you feel the same.

To see a slideshow from the ILEA's Charter signing by it's Founding Members, CLICK HERE.

ILEA Reporting Instructions Now On-line!

You can now download and print “Reporting Instructions” for all ILEA classes. Go to our “Calendar” page and click on the month of the class. Then click on “View” beside the course name. You will find link for the “Reporting Instructions” after the course description, near the bottom of the page. We are also now emailing “Instructor Certification” cards to the departments. Soon to follow will be “Instructor Requests”. If you have any questions please call Niki Smythe at (317) 837-3250.

ILEA Implements New Pre-Basic Course!

In January of 2011, the Pre-Basic course got a complete makeover. The new format uses the Internet as a delivery system but emphasizes instructor-led presentations. EVO classroom and practical skills modules were added for the first time.

This new format requires more involvement by Law Enforcement Training Board (LETB) instructors but promises to be a much better course. The Academy is supplying the lesson plans and additional handout material as well as quizzes for checking proficiency with this new format.

Unlike the previous version of this course, the present version will require a classroom, projector and a laptop with Internet access.

Those wishing to present the course should obtain the materials at least one week before the course is scheduled to begin so that these new modules and materials can be reviewed.

You can find the link for the Pre-Basic Course Instructions under "Training" or here.

Acadis Information Update!

After the first month of having the Acadis System in operation we have noticed some unresolved issues and have had several questions from police departments.

Listed below are some of these issues and questions and hopefully answers that will help for a smoother operation.

  1. You can now connect to Acadis from three different links on our site; the "Acadis Portal" logo in the left navigation column of this website, the Academy "billboard" photo on our homepage, or the link under "Online Services" in the upper right corner of this site. Any of these links will take you into the Acadis portal.
  2. When reporting in-service training to Acadis only report full-time and part-time sworn police officers and reserves.
  3. We ask that you please put the reporting department’s name under the space that calls for a course number. This will allow the person that is approving training to know what department is reporting. At this time, there is no other space for this.
  4. When reporting in-service training please provide us with the certified Provider Number or certified Instructor Number under Instruction Provider in the slot marked Type.
  5. When reporting in-service training, please DO NOT report classes that your officer has taken at the ILEA. Those classes have already been recorded in their files.
  6. Remember, instructors should only claim 4 hours of in-service training hours of courses instructed by them. The other 20 hours must be as a student in a certified LETB class.
  7. RESERVES ARE TO BE REPORTED THE SAME AS SWORN OFFICERS. After a meeting with the Executive Director it was decided that reserves should be reported the same as sworn officers. Remember, it is only suggested and not required that each reserve officer obtain the 24 hours of in-service training. Most reserve officers are not in the Acadis System. If they are not, each department will be required to submit a New Hire Form for each reserve officer. Once we receive this form and manually input your reserves, the system will then give them a PSID number which will be emailed back to you.
  8. Departmental Data forms are due at the end of the year or by March 31 of the next year. By the end of 2010, there should be a form to fill out on the Acadis home page for you to submit for this.
  9. When submitting training through Acadis each officer will need to have a PSID number before submitting their training. This can be done through the New Hire Form on the home page.
  10. When entering training into Acadis, we ask that you only enter training for the officers in your department.
  11. When reporting in-service training, an instructor’s number can be used if they present the class or oversee the training, not if they are a student in the class.
  12. Out-of-State training is good training only if the agency presenting the training is either certified through LETB or through the other State’s POST Agency.

We hope this answers some of your questions, and remember if you have any other questions please feel free to contact the registrar or records departments.

Commentary on LETB/ILEA Instruction in the Use of Less Than Lethal Force

Click here to read Lt. Bob Black's commentary on LETB/ILEA Instruction in the use of Less Than Lethal Force.

In his commentary Lt. Black refers to an article, originally published in the LETB UPDATE, Volume XVI, No. 4, December 1998, which explains the ILEA's reasons for changing the phrase commonly used to identify training in use of less than lethal force from"defensive tactics" to "physical tactics".  That original article can be viewed by clicking here.   

Important Message About ILEA Course Payments!

The Indiana Law Enforcement Academy cannot accept payment prior to the start of a class. Payment is due when your officer(s) checks in on the first day of training. Our business section can invoice your department or payment can be made by check, money order, cash or purchase order.

(Click here to download the Human Trafficking Guidebook & related materials!)

Annual Reporting of In-Service Training Due by March 31!

The Annual Reporting of 24 hours of In-Service Training for the previous calendar year is due by March 31 of each year. 

IC 5-2-1-9(g) requires an Indiana law enforcement officer to satisfactorily complete a minimum of 24 hours of in-service training each year in order to be eligible for continued employment as a law enforcement officer.

LETB Guidelines for E-Training

The Law Enforcement Training Board (LETB) has established guidelines for allowing training presented primarily through electronic means to be counted for the annual 24 hour continuing education requirement for certified officers.

The responsibility for determining what type of training and the quality of the training falls to the department training officer and chief executive officer as it always has with the more conventional modes of training.

The LETB has established the following guidelines:

  • The terms e-learning or e-training mean that the majority of a class is presented through an electronic means, e.g., streaming video, podcasts, CD or DVD, other computer-based or similar modes, or via television.
  • The department training officer approves e-training, with the concurrence of the agency head, concerning the subject matter.
  • The training officer determines if the class is of sufficient quality to meet the annual training requirements for Indiana police officers. In making this determination, the training officer could use the following criteria as well as others:
    1. specifically evaluate the content of the program to be employed.
    2. require learning or performance objectives be supplied by the provider.
    3. require or create an examination of student performance based on those learning goals.
  • A training officer must then be satisfied that appropriate learning has occurred and may use the following approaches (or others as applicable) to make this determination:
    1. the training officer personally observes the student-officer taking the class at the training site.
    2. the training officer tests or otherwise examines the student-officer or has the officer demonstrate the skills that were to be taught.
    3. a post-test is given establishing that a minimum of 75% of the training objectives have been learned.
    4. a pre- and post-test are administered showing significant improvement of knowledge or skills for that particular subject.
    5. the training should be reported using the training officer's PSID number that conducted the program.

      Indiana Certifies Crime Scene Investigators

      The Indiana Law Enforcement Training Board has approved the certification of crime scene investigators. The forensic methods employed by the scientific community, the high standards demanded by the courts and the public's increased expectation for the identification, collection, and preservation of physical evidence has focused the need to hold the crime scene investigator to a higher standard.

      The crime scene certification process, approved by the Indiana Law Enforcement Training Board, was a cooperative effort between the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy, the Indiana State Police Laboratory Division and its quality assurance program and representatives of agencies from across Indiana. While voluntary and cost free, the certification establishes a minimum standard of training and experience in order to become certified.

      If interested, contact Lt. Rick Kiefer at (317) 837-3280 or e-mail rkiefer@ilea.in.gov
      or click here for more info.

        ILEA Cancellation Policy Now In Effect

        If your department needs to cancel a student from an ILEA in-service class, it must be done no later than five (5) working days prior to the start of the class. If a student does not show up or cancellation is made any closer to the start of a class your agency will be responsible for payment in full of this class.

                  Facility Use Fees

                  Here's a list of the ILEA facility use fees effective July 1, 2013:
                  Rates and hours charged are per day (full day or any part of the day).

                  Facility Rates Credit Hours*
                  EVO    
                  EVO (Track, Skill Pad) $500 20
                  Pit Car $425 17
                  Skid Car (Regular "Pit" or "Spin" Car) $425 17
                  Skid Platforms $750 30
                  Simulators (AMOS) $750 30
                  ILEA Vehicle Usage (per vehicle) $350 14
                  ILEA Vehicle Usage (per vehicle)
                  (applies to "Basic" academies only)
                  $100 4
                  Firearms Training    
                  Indoor Firing Range $350 14
                  Outdoor Handgun Range $350 14
                  Outdoor Shotgun Range $350 14
                  Tactics and Simulations Bays-Non Live Fire $350 14
                  FBI & DOC No Charge
                  Tactical Engagement Center  (T.E.C.) $475 17
                  ISP & IMPD No Charge
                  Other Academy Facilities    
                  Classroom $250 10
                  Cottage $250 10
                  Computer Lab $500 20
                  Gym or Mini Gym $250 10
                  Swimming Pool $350 14
                  Conference Room $150 6
                  Chaplains No Charge
                  Learning Resource Center $350 14

                  If other supplies or services are requested there may be an additional charge. 
                  Verify with the Business Section.

                  *CREDIT HOUR VALUE IS $25/HOUR FOR FACILITY OR EQUIPMENT USE ONLY.

                   

                  Cancellation Policy (This applies to facility fees and course fees) :

                  5 Business Days or more No Charge
                  Less than 5 Business Days Payment In Full

                  Food and Lodging Only:

                  - Breakfast $4.00
                  - Lunch $7.00
                  - Dinner **Temporarily Discontinued** $7.00
                  Lodging:  Per Bed / Per Night $25.00

                  Miscellaneous Charges:

                  Duplicate Certificate $15.00 per copy
                  Grade Transcript $15.00 per transcript

                  Notice: Rates are subject to change each July 1st.