Amber Alert

IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Insurance

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • Indiana Bicentennial Celebration 2016
  • HIP_2_0_widget
  • widget1
  • widget2
  • widget3
  • widget4

Indiana Department of Insurance

IDOI > Licensing > Resident Business Entity Adjuster Licensing > Business Entity Adjuster Licensing Requirements Business Entity Adjuster Licensing Requirements

FOR INDEPENDENT ADJUSTERS

IC 27-1-28 Independent Adjuster Licensing

A business entity may apply for an Independent Adjuster license by submitting:

  1. a uniform business entity application to the Commissioner with a declaration, under penalty of suspension, revocation, or refusal of licensure, that the statements made in the application are true and complete to the best knowledge of the individual submitting the application on behalf of the business entity;
  2. an application fee ($40 for residents, $90 for non-residents, unless retaliatory fee applies); and
  3. the name, address, Social Security number, and criminal and administrative history of each of the following:
    1. An owner that has a least ten percent (10%) interest or voting interest in the business entity.
    2. A partner of the business entity.
    3. A executive officer of the business entity.
    4. A director of the business entity.

The application will be approved upon finding all of the following:

  1. The business entity is eligible to designate Indiana as the business entity's home state (for Resident or DHS Independent Adjusters), or the business entity is licensed in its home state (for Non-Resident Independent Adjusters).
  2. The business entity has designated a licensed individual Independent Adjuster to be responsible for the business entity's compliance with Indiana insurance law.
  3. The business entity has not committed any act that is grounds for probation, suspension, revocation or refusal of an Independent Adjuster license.

The Commissioner may require a business entity applying to produce any documents reasonably necessary to verify the information contained in the application.

The uniform business entity application may be submitted online at either www.sircon.com or www.nipr.com, or through the uniform NAIC paper application (include check or money order made payable to Indiana Department of Insurance).

FOR PUBLIC ADJUSTERS

IC 27-1-27 Public Adjusters

A business entity may apply for a Public Adjuster license by submitting:

  1. a uniform business entity application to the Commissioner with a declaration, under penalty of suspension, revocation, or refusal of licensure, that the statements made in the application are true and complete to the best knowledge of the individual submitting the application on behalf of the business entity;
  2. an application fee of fifty dollars ($50), unless a retaliatory fee applies;
  3. proof of a $10,000 bond in the business name, specific for Indiana, and not more than six (6) months old; and
  4. the name, address, Social Security number, and criminal and administrative history of each of the following:
    1. An owner that has a least ten percent (10%) interest or voting interest in the business entity.
    2. A partner of the business entity.
    3. A executive officer of the business entity.
    4. A director of the business entity.

The application will be approved upon finding all of the following:

  1. The business entity is eligible to designate Indiana as the business entity's home state (for Resident or DHS Public Adjusters), or the business entity is licensed in its home state (for Non-Resident Public Adjusters).
  2. The business entity has designated a licensed individual Public Adjuster to be responsible for the business entity's compliance with Indiana insurance law.
  3. The business entity has not committed any act that is grounds for probation, suspension, revocation or refusal of an independent adjuster license.

The Commissioner may require a business entity applying to produce any documents reasonably necessary to verify the information contained in the application.

The uniform business entity application may be submitted online at either www.sircon.com or through the uniform NAIC paper application (include $50 check or money order made payable to Indiana Department of Insurance). 

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
311 WEST WASHINGTON STREET
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA  46204-2787