Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
IDOI Adjuster Licensing Contact - firstname.lastname@example.org
An Independent Adjuster works on a contract basis for an insurance carrier doing direct adjudication of claims. Indiana does not require licensure for staff adjusters. Indiana residents desiring an Independent Adjuster license must:
The license fee for a resident is $40.00. There is also an electronic processing fee.
A Public Adjuster renders advice or assistance to the insured in the adjustment of a claim or claims for loss or damages under any policy of insurance covering real or personal property and any person or corporation who, or which, advertises, solicits business, or holds itself out to the public as an adjuster of such claims. Indiana residents desiring an Public Adjuster license must:
The license fee for a resident is $50.00. There is also an electronic processing fee.
The Federal Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 ( 18 U.S.C. 1033, 1034) contains a provision prohibiting any person who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust from participating in the business of insurance without receiving specific written consent from the appropriate state insurance regulatory official. In the case of insurance adjusters, written consent is obtained from the insurance regulatory official in producer's resident state.
The decision of whether or not to grant written consent is determined on a case-by case basis after a review of all relevant factors.
If a license applicant has a background history that may require written consent, the applicant should advise the Indiana Department of Insurance Agent Licensing Division. If the applicant is unsure if written consent is required, consult the Department's Agent Licensing Division. If necessary to evaluate the situation , the applicant will be directed to complete the 1033 forms.
Although sponsorship from an insurer is not a requirement, the application for written consent does require identification of a present or proposed employer , a scope of the employment and an affidavit from the employer outlining the job duties and responsibilities that will be performed and that it is the opinion of the employer that the performance of these responsibilities does not constitute a threat to the public.
The Examination Content Outlines were developed to identify and classify the entry level knowledge that insurance adjusters need to properly serve their clients. Test questions were researched and developed based on questions submitted to industry professionals in Indiana for review and approval. This process assures that the tests reflect content that an entry-level adjuster will need to know to properly perform their duties for the insurance-buying public. The following are the Examination Content Outlines for Independent and Public Adjusters:
Individuals preparing for an adjuster examination should be certain that study materials used cover the topics in the outlines. IDOI does not specify an official study manual but provides the Examination Content Outlines. IDOI also providers a list of approved pre-licensing education providers for Independent Adjusters. Providers of Independent Adjuster pre-licensing education courses select appropriate study materials, which, when combined with classroom lectures and discussion, should cover the material contained in the approved content outline. Independent Adjusters may also obtain study material suggestions from insurance companies or the adjusting company for which they plan to work.
For resident Independent Adjusters, forty (40) hours of pre-licensing education are required to provide an entry level knowledge about the products, services, duties and responsibilities of an Independent Adjuster when working with the public. In addition, candidates must understand and comply with the Indiana statutes and rules affecting insurance and adjusting of claims. The pre-licensing education requirement must be meet before applying for a license.
A pre-licensing education Certificate of Completion will be issued by your pre-licensing school at the end of your course. You must have proof of the pre-licensing completion prior to taking the exam. You must pass your exam and apply for your license during this six-month period. The exam is offered online at AdjusterPro.com.