- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Historical Bureau

Indiana Historical Bureau

IHB > Historical Markers > Find a Marker > Harrison County Harrison County

Harrison County

Location: 300 N. Capitol, SE corner Harrison County Courthouse lawn, Corydon. (Harrison County, Indiana)

Erected by County Commissioners, 1966

ID# : 31.1966.5


Organized 1808 from parts of Knox and Clark Counties. Named in honor of William Henry Harrison who owned land within the County and was Territorial Governor and later ninth President of U.S. Fourth county formed in Indiana Territory. Original Harrison County comprised a large area and parts went to form Washington, Perry, Orange, Crawford, and Floyd Counties. Two buildings have served as county courthouses - the original State Capitol and the present courthouse erected 1929. County records date from 1808.


Early Settlement and Exploration