Language Translation
  Close Menu

SBOE Recognized Accrediting Organizations

Currently, the following organizations are accrediting bodies eligible to accredit nonpublic K12 schools in Indiana:

  • Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools, Colleges, and Universities (AASDAS)
  • American Association of Christian Schools (AACS)
  • American Montessori Society (AMS)
  • Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
  • Christian Schools International (CSI)
  • Independent Schools Association of the Central States (ISACS)
  • International Christian Accrediting Association (ICAA)
  • Lumen Accreditation from the Catholic University of America
  • National Lutheran Schools Accreditation (NLSA)
  • Cognia/AdvancED
  • Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACSWASC)
  • Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS)
  • Middle States Association (MSA)

On May 13, 2020, the Indiana State Board of Education approved the process by which third-party organizations may seek recognition as accrediting bodies for nonpublic K-12 schools. Details are available here. An overview of the rolling application timeline is below. Accrediting organizations seeking recognition by the Indiana State Board of Education must electronically submit a petition to no later than November 30 of the year during which the organization seeks recognition.

August 1: Application window to submit notice of intent opens. Upon receipt of notice of intent, organizations seeking recognition will be provided the petition materials

September 30: Last day of the application window to submit notice of intent. Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted.

November 30: Deadline for organizations to submit their "seeking recognition" petition. Petitions submitted after this date may not be accepted.

Questions should be directed to