Language Translation
  Close Menu

County Specific Information Interactive Map


County Eligibility Status for Reimbursement in Non-Capital Cases

Currently, 67 of Indiana's 92 Counties are participating in the Commission's program and are eligible for quarterly reimbursements in exchange for following the Commission's Standards & Guidelines. 73 counties are currently eligible.

Counties or regional systems wishing to participate in the Commission's reimbursement program must pass an ordinance creating a public defender board. The board adopts a comprehensive plan that outlines the methods for providing indigent defense services. If the public defense program then abides by the Standards of the Commission, it is eligible for reimbursement of up to 40% of eligible non-capital case defense costs. All 92 counties are eligible to receive a 50% reimbursement of capital (death penalty) case defense costs.


  • Click on the map (or use the drop-down) to select the county and reveal the associated eligibility information, website, and contact information.
  • Click 'Return to the Directory of Indiana County Eligibility Status' to return to these instructions.