Info Agency Main Banner Content


28th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday Celebration Award Nominations

Please complete the form below to nominate a person of your choosing for the 28th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday Celebration. Nominations for the 2019 Awards are due Monday, December 3, 2018 at 11:59 EST. Only completed nominations received by the due date will be considered.

2019 Awards

Freedom Award

This award is granted to individuals or projects whose major societal influence includes breaking down barriers that have divided us in the past and/or building ongoing relationships that foster respect, understanding, and harmony in our schools.

Chairman’s Award

Presented at the Chair’s discretion, it recognizes local projects, programs, initiatives, and/or leaders that make significant contributions toward achieving the “dream” of Dr. Martin Luther King in the areas of economic development, poverty reductions, social justice and/or peacemaking efforts.   

Trailblazer Award

The recipient is the ultimate pillar of their community; their efforts have afforded rights and liberties that did not exist previously.

Sagamore of the Wabash

The highest distinction in Indiana is the designation of “Sagamore of the Wabash” by the State Governor. “Sagamore” was a term used by Native American tribes of Indiana (and other tribes of the northeastern United States) to describe a lesser chief of a great man among the tribe whom the chief consulted for wisdom and advice. “The Wabash” refers to Indiana’s official state river.