Language Translation
  Close Menu

Vital Records

Our goal with Health First Indiana is to ensure that every Hoosier has access to the core public health services that allow them to achieve their optimal health and well-being by providing vital records services remotely in the event of an emergency.

Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)

Vital Records is a division of DCHD that maintains all birth and death records for Decatur County. Certified copies of both are issued to individuals for travel, school, marriage, insurance, estate matters, and more. Our staff is certified to complete correction amendments to these records and to prepare paternity affidavits as needed. A fee is charged for those services.

Both birth and death records begin in 1905. Records before 1905 are accessible through IARA (Indiana Archives and Records Administration): (317) 232-3380

Appointments are required for all corrections, paternity affidavits, and home birth registrations.

Birth Certificate - standard or wallet size $25.00

Birth Certificate bundle - standard and wallet size $35.00

Death Certificate -  standard size $25.00

EACH ADDITIONAL BIRTH OR DEATH CERTIFICATE $10.00

Amendment to Birth Record - $25.00

Paternity/Paternity upon Marriage -  $60.00

Genealogy Search (Birth & Death) - Same as Birth & Death Fees

*NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED*

We DO accept Birth or Death requests via email or fax.

Records are payable by cash, money order, or credit card (see AllPaid below)

Allpaid Credit Card System THIRD-PARTY AUTHORIZATION, service fee applied.

Please remit payment to The Decatur County Health Department when submitting the form.

*These fees are subject to modification by appropriate action of the Decatur County Health Department.*

Birth Certificate Form

Death Certificate Form

A BIRTH OR DEATH CERTIFICATE WILL NOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL YOU COMPLETE AND SIGN THE FORM AND SEND IT WITH A COPY OF THE FRONT AND BACK OF YOUR IDENTIFICATION TO ONE OF THE EMAIL ADDRESSES BELOW. Please view acceptable forms of identification and persons eligible to obtain a certificate at the bottom of this page.

An adult may authorize another adult to obtain his or her Birth Certificate or that of his or her minor child (18 & under) by completing the Permission to Release Birth Certificate. The Vital Records staff will NOT fax a Birth Certificate to anyone or any organization.


Amanda Bates, Population Health Manager & Notary Public

(812) 663-8301 Ext. 7720  |  Email: abates@decaturcounty.in.gov

Angie Garner, Public Health Assistant/Registrar

(812) 663-8301 Ext. 7710 |  Email: agarner@decaturcounty.in.gov

Whitney Heard, Public Health Assistant/Registrar

(812) 663-8301 Ext. 7716 | Email: wherd@decaturcounty.in.gov

PERSONS ELIGIBILE TO OBTAIN CERTIFIED COPIES OF BRITH RECORDS - MUST BE 18+ AND SHOW PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP

  • Person named on the record
  • Parent, must be listed on birth certificate
  • Grandparents
  • Child over 18 years of person on record, with proof of relationship
  • Spouse
  • Sibling, with proof and written release
  • Court appointed legal guardian - must provide guardianship paper with seal
  • Attorney representing person name on record - must have ID for self and ID/written release from person on record
  • Caseworker from Division of Family & Children - with court appointed guardianship papers and ID
  • Law enforcement personnel with ID and court order

A birth certificate may be released to other individuals when provided a written authorization, containing signature, birth information and ID of person on the record, as well as individual's name the record is being released to. The person the record is being issued to must also have an ID.

All requests require proper identification, proof of relationship, or direct interest in the person named on the record. Requests sent without proper identification or documentation will be returned without being processed.

Identification requirements may be fulfilled by submitting one valid Primary Document or two valid Secondary Documents. All documents must be current and valid; expired documents are not acceptable.

Accepted Primary Documents (One Form of Identification):

  • Government Issued Driver’s License / State ID – front and back required
  • US Military ID – front and back required
  • Passport
  • Veterans ID
  • Green Mexico Consular ID

Accepted Secondary Documents (Two Forms of Identification):

  • Signed Social Security Card
  • Department of Correction ID Card or Printout – must include a picture
  • College School ID – with proof of current enrollment (transcript, letter from administration)
  • Work ID Badge – with proof of current employment (computerized paycheck stub, letter from employer)
  • Voter Registration Card – with name and current address
  • Current Vehicle Registration – with name and current address (not Title of Ownership)
  • Military Discharge (DD-214)
  • Home Lease/Rental Agreement or Warranty Deed – with name, current address and signature(s)

Those with Amish or Religious Exceptions must submit a letter from the Bishop/Clergy along with one form of primary documentation or two forms of secondary documentation.

Amish Primary Documents (One Form of Identification with a letter from Bishop/Clergy):

  • Non-Photo ID

Amish Secondary Documents (Two Forms of Identification with a letter from Bishop/Clergy):

  • Signed Social Security Card or IRS From 4029 (exemption of SSN)
  • Baptismal Certificate
  • Marriage Certificate
  • School Records

Source:  IDOH Identification Requirements