Close Menu

Main Content

News Releases

  • Current: News Releases


Native American Hoosiers to be titleholders

The Indiana Native American Indian Affairs Commissioin approve to have special Native American Hoosiers to be titleholders.

The Teacher Grant was changed to the INAIAC Michael Pace Educator Grant. Mr. Pace is an enrolled member of the Lenape Tribe. He has worked at Conner Praire teaching about the Lenapes for over twenty years.

The INAIAC Summer Scholarship was changed to the INAIAC John R. Winchester Scholarship. Mr. Winchester was an enrolled member of the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi. He served many dedicated years as fighting for equal rights for Native Americans to receive education.

INAIAC held Listening Sessions

The Indiana Native America Indian Affairs Commission held Listening Sessions in Evansville, Bloomington, Ft. Wayne and Kokomo. The next Listening Session will be November 2nd, 2019 at the Indiana Repertory Theater beginning at 2:00pm.

The Indiana Native American Indian Affairs Commission Director, MeLissa J. Williams was accepted to serve on the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indian and Western Art Board of Advisors.

Proclamation Day

On November 1st, the Indiana Native American Indian Affairs Commission will host their first Proclamation Day. Governor Holcomb and twenty city mayors have been invited to proclaim on November 1st as Native American Indian Month. This event is to raise awareness that over 25,000 Native American Indians live in the State Of Indiana.

On November 8th, The Indiana State Museum and Indiana Native American Indian Affairs Commission will partner again to host, Native Americans: Beyond The History Books. Thirteen Native Americans will talk about their heritage, culture, language and their present career. Purdue University Native American
Education and Cultural Center and Indiana University First Nations Native American Education and Cultural Center will also be presenting additional information. Schools can receive the INAIAC Michael Pace Educator Grant by applying. The application is www.in.gov/inaiac.

Students Recieve Scholarship

The following Native American Indian students received a scholarship by the INAIAC: Haley Begay, Hannah Buchanan, Alaina Bryant, Brooklyn Cromwell, Kaitlynn McClerkin, Noah McClerkin, Molly McGuire, Kayla Murphy, Whirlwind Bull Perkins, Ana Stahlman, Kaitlynn Trexler.

INAIAC provides schools a grant

The Indiana Native American Indian Affairs Commisisons provides schools a grant of $250.00 for field trips to the approved sites. The following schools have received the following INAIAC Michael Pace Educator Grant: Clark Pleasant Aacademy in Indianapolis, IPS, Butler Lab School in Indianapolis, Enlace Neigborhood Charter Network in Indianapolis, IUPUI Freshman Literature Class in Indianapolis, Daniel Webster in Indianapolis, Eastside Elementary in Anderson, CSA Lincoln Elementary in Columbus, , Resurrection Catholic School in Evansville, Sacred Hear School in Warsaw,


Gov. Holcomb Makes Appointments to Various Boards and Commissions



INAIAC Teacher's Grant

Blackford High School, Greenwood Christian Academy, Mathbook Learning Wendell Phillips, Center Grove Community Schoool Corporation, South Decatur Elementary and Central Elementary-Pike Township School and Resurrection Catholic School were the schools that were award the INAIAC grant of $250.00 to go to field trips teaching about Native American Indian culture and history.





6-13-2015 - Gov Names Sally Tuttle as INAIAC Chair


10-16-2015 - Scholarship Press Release

11-17-2015 - Press Release for Sagamore

11-18-2015 - Press Release for Youth Event


8-8-2014 - Governor Pence Names Appointees to Multiple Boards and Commissions

News and FAQs

Top FAQs