Header

Main Content

Article

Indiana Master Naturalist classes

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.
 

Adult IMN Courses

  • Johnson County SWCD Office, Franklin
    March 14-Oct. 10, 2019 (Second Thursday of the month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Blair Beavers, blair-beavers@iaswcd.org or 317-736-9540 x101
     
  • Kosciusko County, Warsaw
    March 14-Nov. 14, 2019 (Second Thursday of month, 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or 574-267-7445 x 5374
     
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Apr. 6-Dec. 7, 2019 (First Saturday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128
     
  • Tippecanoe County Parks, West Lafayette
    Aug. 23 (6-9 p.m.), Aug. 24, Sept. 7 and 21 ( Saturday Workshops, 8 a.m.-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Mary Cutler, mcut@msn.com or 765-567-2993
     
  • Gabis Arboretum, Valparaiso, IN
    Aug. 27- Oct. 29, 2019 (Tuesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Contact: Deb Way, wayd@pnw.edu or 219-989-8492
     
  • Twin Bridges Recreation Lodge, Danville
    Sept. 4-Nov. 6, 2019 (Wednesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Beth Martin, bmarti24@wm.com or 317-718-6865
     
  • The Monon Community Center, Carmel, IN
    Sept. 5 – Oct. 24, 2019 (Thursday, 6:30-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Erica Foreman, eforeman@carmelclayparks.com or 317-843-3861
     
  • Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
    Sept. 19, 2019 –June 18, 2020 (Third Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jennifer Boyce, Jennifer.boyce@indy.gov or 317-327-7148

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    July 8-12, 2019 (Day Camp, 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. each day)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  • Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis
    July 15-19, 2019 (Day Camp, 10 a.m.-3 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Dylan Allison, DAllison@dnr.IN.gov or 317-591-0122
     
  • Floyd County 4-H Grounds, New Albany
    July 15-19 (Day Camp, 9 a.m. – 2 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Gina Anderson, gmanders@purdue.edu or 812-948-5470

  • Quaker Haven Camp, Syracuse
    July 29 – Aug. 1, 2019 (Day Camp 9 a.m.-3 p.m. each day)
    Contact: Kevin Lipsey, kevin@quakerhaven.com or 574-834-4193

  • Chain O’Lakes State Park, Albion, IN-
    Sept. 19, 2019- April 16, 2020 (third Thursday of month, 1-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kaitlyn Sproles, KSproles@dnr.IN.gov or 260- 636-2654