Header

Main Content

Article

Indiana Master Naturalist classes

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.
 

Adult IMN Courses

  • Kosciusko County, Warsaw
    March 14-Nov. 14, 2019 (Second Thursday of month, 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.) 
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or 574-267-7445 x 5374
     
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Apr. 6-Dec. 7, 2019 (First Saturday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128
     
  • Gabis Arboretum, Valparaiso, IN
    Aug. 27- Oct. 29, 2019 (Tuesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Contact: Deb Way, wayd@pnw.edu or 219-989-8492. Register online.
     
  • Twin Bridges Recreation Lodge, Danville
    Sept. 4-Nov. 6, 2019 (Wednesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Beth Martin, bmarti24@wm.com or 317-718-6865
     
  • The Monon Community Center, Carmel, IN
    Sept. 5 – Oct. 24, 2019 (Thursday, 6:30-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Erica Foreman, eforeman@carmelclayparks.com or 317-843-3861
     
  • St. Joseph County Parks, New Carlisle
    Sept. 5–Oct. 29, 2019 (Thursday evenings, 5-8 p.m. and some Saturdays)
    Contact: Leslie Witkowski, lwitkowski@sjcparks.org or 574-654-3155 
     
  • Indiana Dunes State Park/Coffee Creek Watershed Preserve, Chesterton
    Sept. 7-Nov. 9, 2019 (Saturdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Marie Laudeman, MLaudeman@dnr.IN.gov or 219-926-1390
     
  • Floyd County Extension Office, New Albany
    Sept. 16 – Oct 21, 2019 (Mondays, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturdays)
    Contact: Gina Anderson, gmanders@purdue.edu or 812-948-5470
     
  • Sullivan County 4-H Fairgrounds, Sullivan
    Jan. 8-March 25, 2020 (Wednesdays, 6:30–8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Bill Spurlin, bspurlin@juno.com or 812-699-1444

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • None at this time.

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12 )

  • Elkhart County Parks, Elkhart
    Feb. 2- Feb. 23, 2020 (Each Saturday, 9:30 a.m.-3 p.m.)
    Contact: Krista Daniels, Krista@elkhartcountyparks.org or 574-875-7422