Header

Main Content

Article

Indiana Master Naturalist classes

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.
 

Adult IMN Courses
 

  • Fox Island Alliance, Fort Wayne
    Feb. 19-May 19, 2019 (Tuesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Pam George, pamgeorgeph@comcast.net or 260-471-5952
     
  • Southeastern Indiana Recycling District, Madison
    March 4-May 20, 2019 (First and Third Mondays of month, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Aaron Bell, aaron@seird.org or 812-574-4080. Register online.
     
  • Johnson County SWCD Office, Franklin
    March 14-Oct. 10, 2019 (Second Thursday of the month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Blair Beavers, blair-beavers@iaswcd.org or 317-736-9540 x101
     
  • Kosciusko County, Warsaw
    March 14-Nov. 14, 2019 (Second Thursday of month, 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or 574-267-7445 x 5374
     
  • Ball State University Field Station, Muncie
    Apr. 2 – June 4, 2019 (Tuesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    https://www.memberplanet.com/s/fortheland/indianamasternaturalistapplication
    Contact Laurynn Thieme, ljthieme@purdue.edu or 765-747-7732
     
  • Cope Environmental Center, Centerville
    April 4–May 23, 2019 (Thursdays 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Traci Lewis, t.lewis@copeenvironmental.org or 765-855-3188
     
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Apr. 6-Dec. 7, 2019 (First Saturday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128
     
  • Gabis Arboretum, Valparaiso
    April 6 - June 15, 2019 (Saturdays, 8-11 a.m.)
    Contact: Shellie K Barron, skbarron@pnw.edu or 219-771-3984
     
  • Tippecanoe County Parks, West Lafayette
    Aug. 23 (6-9 p.m.), Aug. 24, Sept. 7 and 21 ( Saturday Workshops, 8 a.m.-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Mary Cutler, mcut@msn.com or 765-567-2993
     
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Aug. 26, 2018-May 26, 2019 (Last Sunday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128
     
  • Twin Bridges Recreation Lodge, Danville
    Sept. 4-Nov. 6, 2019 (Wednesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Beth Martin, bmarti24@wm.com or 317-718-6865
     
  • Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
    Sept. 19, 2019 –June 18, 2020 (Third Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jennifer Boyce, Jennifer.boyce@indy.gov or 317-327-7148

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    July 8-12, 2019 (Day Camp, 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. each day)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128

 

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)