Header

Main Content

Article

Indiana Master Naturalist classes

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.
 

Adult IMN Courses

  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Nov. 24, 2019-Aug. 30, 2020 (Last Sunday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128

  • Sullivan County 4-H Fairgrounds, Sullivan
    Jan. 8-March 25, 2020 (Wednesdays, 6:30–8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Bill Spurlin, bspurlin@juno.com or 812-699-1444

  • Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Two classes Feb. 10-April 27, 2020 (Mondays, 6–9 p.m.) or Feb. 11 – April 28, 2020 (Tuesdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Shelby Hauer, Shelby@wesselmanwoods.com or 812-479-0771

  • Fox Island Alliance, Fort Wayne
    Feb. 18-May 16, 2020 (Tuesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Pam George, pamgeorgeph@comcast.net or 260-471-5952

  • Southeastern Indiana Recycling District, Madison
    March 2-May 11, 2020 (Mondays, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Aaron Bell, aaron@seird.org or 812-574-4080

  • The Monon Community Center, Carmel, IN
    March 5- April 30, 2020 (Thursday, 6:30-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Erica Foreman, eforeman@carmelclayparks.com or 317-843-3861

  • Ouabache State Park, Bluffton
    March 11 – May 6, 2020 (Wednesdays, 9 a.m.-12:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Jody Heaston, jheaston@dnr.IN.gov or 260-437-8650

  • Kosciusko County, Warsaw 
    March 12- Nov. 12, 2020 (Second Thursday of month, 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or 574-267-7445 x 5374

  • Johnson County SWCD Office, Franklin - FULL
    March 12-Oct. 8, 2020 (Second Thursday of the month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Blair Beavers, blair-beavers@iaswcd.org or 317-736-9540 x101

  • Gabis Arboretum, Valparaiso, IN
    March 19-May 21, 2020 (Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Deb Way, wayd@pnw.edu or 219-989-8492

  • Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    April 20-24, 2020 (one-week course, 9:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Tiffany Parker, tmparker@indianamuseum.org or 260-854-3790

  • Elkhart County SWCD, Goshen
    Apr. 30-June 18, 2020 (Thursdays,6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jenna Wait, jwait@elkhartcounty.com or 574-533-4383 x3

  • Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary, Connersville
    June 4-July 23, 2020 (Thursdays 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Pamela Herrmann, pherrmann77@gmail.com or 765-827-5109

  • Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge, Seymour
    March 4 - April 29, 2020 (Wednesdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Donna Stanley, donna_stanley@fws.gov or 812-522-4352 x12

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • None at this time.

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12 )

  • Elkhart County Parks, Elkhart
    Feb. 2- Feb. 23, 2020 (Each Saturday, 9:30 a.m.-3 p.m.)
    Contact: Krista Daniels, Krista@elkhartcountyparks.org or 574-875-7422

  • Allen County Parks - Fox Island, Fort Wayne-
    June 23-July 14, 2020 (Tuesdays, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Natalie Haley, nhaley@allencountyparks.org or 260-449-3246

  • Quaker Haven Camp, Syracuse, IN- Cancelled
    Aug. 3-6 (Day Camp 9 a.m.-3 p.m. each day)
    Contact: Kevin Lipsey, kevin@quakerhaven.com or 810-338-9494