Header

Info Agency Main Banner Content

Article

Indiana Master Naturalist classes

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.
 

Adult IMN Courses

 

  • Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Two classes Feb. 4-April 22, 2019 (Mondays, 6–9 p.m.) or Feb. 5–April 23, 2019 (Tuesdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Gena Garrett, ggarrett@wesselmannaturesociety.org or 812-479-0771 x102. Register online.
     
  • Fox Island Alliance, Fort Wayne
    Feb. 19-May 19, 2019 (Tuesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Pam George, pamgeorgeph@comcast.net or 260-471-5952
     
  • The Monon Community Center, Carmel, IN
    Feb. 28- Apr. 18, 2019 (Thursday, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Erica Foreman, eforeman@carmelclayparks.com or 317-843-3861
     
  • Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge, Seymour 
    March 6–April 24, 2019 (Wednesdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Donna Stanley, donna_stanley@fws.gov or 812-522-4352 x12
     
  • Southeastern Indiana Recycling District, Madison
    March 4-May 20, 2019 (First and Third Mondays of month, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Aaron Bell, aaron@seird.org or 812-574-4080. Register online.
     
  • Southeastway Park, Indianapolis
    March 8-May 3, 2019 (Fridays, 6:30-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Caitlin Stahl, caitlin.stahl@Indy.Gov or 317-327-4836
     
  • Johnson County SWCD Office, Franklin
    March 14-Oct. 10, 2019 (Second Thursday of the month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Blair Beavers, blair-beavers@iaswcd.org or 317-736-9540 x101
     
  • Kosciusko County, Warsaw
    March 14-Nov. 14, 2019 (Second Thursday of month, 5:30 - 8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or 574-267-7445 x 5374
     
  • Ball State University Field Station, Muncie
    Apr. 2 – June 4, 2019 (Tuesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    https://www.memberplanet.com/s/fortheland/indianamasternaturalistapplication
    Contact Laurynn Thieme, ljthieme@purdue.edu or 765-747-7732
     
  • Salamonie Lake, Andrews
    Apr. 2- Apr. 25, 2019 (Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Teresa Rody, trody@dnr.IN.gov or 260-468-2127
     
  • Cope Environmental Center, Centerville, IN
    April 4–May 23, 2019 (Thursdays 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Traci Lewis, t.lewis@copeenvironmental.org or 765-855-3188
     
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Apr. 6-Dec. 7, 2019 (First Saturday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128
     
  • Gabis Arboretum, Valparaiso, IN
    April 6 - June 15, 2019 (Saturdays, 8-11 a.m.)
    Contact: Shellie K Barron, skbarron@pnw.edu or 219-771-3984
     
  • Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    April 22-26, 2019 (one-week course, 9:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Tiffany Parker, tmparker@indianamuseum.org or 260-854-3790
     
  • Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis - FULL
    June 14, 2018-May 9, 2019 (second Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Dylan Allison, dallison@dnr.IN.gov or 317-591-0122
     
  • Tippecanoe County Parks, IN
    Aug. 23 (6-9 p.m.), Aug. 24, Sept. 7 and 23 ( Saturday Workshops, 8 a.m.-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Mary Cutler, mcut@msn.com or 765-567-2993
     
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    Aug. 26, 2018-May 26, 2019 (Last Sunday of month, 12:30-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128
     
  • Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
    Sept. 19, 2019 –June 18, 2020 (Third Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jennifer Boyce, Jennifer.boyce@indy.gov or 317-327-7148

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • No classes at this time.

 

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  • Cope Environmental Center, Centerville, IN
    June 3-7, 2019 (Day Camp 10 a.m.-3 p.m. each day)
    Stephanie McCurdy, s.mccurdy@copeenvironmental.org or 765-855-3188
     
  • Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    June 10-14, 2019 (Day Camp 9 a.m.-3 p.m. each day)
    Contact: Tiffany Parker, tmparker@indianamuseum.org or 260) 854-3790
     
  • Ouabache State Park, Bluffton, IN-
    June 10- 14, 2019( Day camp, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Jody Heaston, jheaston@dnr.IN.gov or 260-437-8650
     
  • Mounds State Park, Anderson
    June 24-28, 2019 (Day Camp, 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. each day)
    Contact: Kelley Morgan, kmorgan1@dnr.IN.gov or 765-649-8128