Close Menu

Marion County Judicial Selection Committee

Authority | Current Vacancy | Members | Contact


The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee consists of 14 members for terms of four years: four attorney members appointed by legal associations, four members selected by legislative leaders, four members appointed by the chairs of both political parties (two appointments from each), one vice-chair, and one Supreme Court Justice who serves as chair. The Committee is required to evaluate candidates and submit to the Governor, three nominees who are the most highly qualified from among all the eligible individuals considered. See Indiana Code 33-33-49-13.1 to 33-33-49-13.7 to learn more about Marion County's judicial selection. See the committee's Policies and Procedures for more information.

Current vacancy

Vacancy resulting from the January 2022 resignation of Judge Mark A. Jones


Hon. Steven H. DavidChair
Indiana Supreme Court
Appt'd by Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush

Hon. Cale J. BradfordVice Chair
Court of Appeals of Indiana
Appt'd by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals

Susan E. Cline
Cline Law Group, LLC
Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana

Lee C. Christie
Christie Farrell Lee & Bell
Appt'd by Indiana Trial Lawyers Ass'n

Samantha DeWester
Beam, Longest, & Neff LLC
Appt'd by Marion County Republican Party

Carlette Duffy
Appt'd by Marion County Democratic Party

K. Michael Gaerte
Dentons Bingham Greenebaum LLP
Appt'd by Indianapolis Bar Ass'n

Rick Hurst
NK Hurst Company, Inc.
Appt'd by Senate, President Pro Tempore

Katherine F. Jackson-Lindsay
Jackson Legal Services
Appt'd by Marion County Bar Ass'n

Lacy M. Johnson
Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
Appt’d by House of Representatives, Minority Leader

Andrew J. Mallon
Capital Improvement Board of Managers of Marion County 
Appt'd by Marion County Democratic Party

Christopher Mitchem
Bose Public Affairs Group
Appt'd by Marion County Republican Party

J. Sebastian Smelko
Ice Miller LLP
Appt’d by House of Representatives, Speaker

Joseph L. Smith, Jr.
Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Appt’d by Senate, Minority Leader


David Kuhnz, Staff Attorney
Indiana Office of Communication, Education & Outreach

Pursuant to I. C. 5-14-3-3(a)(2), all requests for public records directed to the Indiana Office of Judicial Administration shall be in writing and made upon the following form: Public Record Request.