Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Marion incumbents qualified

For Immediate Release | March 15, 2024

Marion County judges qualified by Commission

The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee conducted interviews on March 15 of the eight incumbent trial court judges seeking retention. After considering the judges qualifications and performance in office, the Committee finds that the following judges ARE qualified and SHOULD BE retained in office:

  • Judge Stephen Creason
  • Judge Charnette Garner
  • Judge Danielle Gaughan
  • Judge Jennifer Harrison
  • Judge Marie Kern
  • Judge Jeffrey Marchal
  • Judge Charles Miller
  • Judge Cynthia Oetjen

The names of these eight judges will appear on the ballot in November for voters to determine whether or not they should each be retained.

Additionally, two incumbent judges chose not to file a statement seeking to be retained in office. The Committee will be releasing details including applications and instructions for filling those vacancies at a later date. Details on the Committee, including membership, are online.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer