Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Marion incumbent interviews

For Immediate Release | March 4, 2024

Marion County judicial incumbent interviews scheduled

On Friday, March 15, the Marion County Judicial Selection Committee will conduct interviews of eight incumbent trial court judges seeking retention. According to IC 33-33-49-13.7, the Committee is required to issue a recommendation to voters concerning whether incumbent judges are qualified and if they should be retained in office. The Committee will make recommendations after the interviews.

The interviews will be held in the Supreme Court Conference Room (State House 319) at 200 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204. Interviews are open to the public with decorum rules in place. The schedule is as follows:

Friday, March 15 (all times listed below are Eastern)
8:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. – Executive Session
9:45 a.m.-10:05 a.m. – Judge Charles Miller
10:05 a.m.-10:25 a.m. – Judge Marie Kern
10:25 a.m.-10:45 a.m. – Judge Danielle Gaughan
11:00 a.m.-11:20 a.m. – Judge Cynthia Oetjen
11:20 a.m.-11:40 a.m. – Judge Jeffrey Marchal
11:40 a.m.-12:00 p.m. – Judge Jennifer Harrison
12:15 p.m.-12:35 p.m. – Judge Charnette Garner
12:35 p.m.-12:55 p.m. – Judge Stephen Creason
12:55 p.m. – Lunch and Executive Session followed by public vote

After all interviews have concluded, the Committee will deliberate in a private executive session to consider candidates for retention as required by IC 33-33-49-13.1(q). The executive sessions on March 15 are authorized under IC 33-33-49-13.1(q) and IC 5-14.1-1.5. The Committee vote is held publicly following deliberations.

Ultimately, the names of the eight judges will appear on the ballot in November for voters to determine whether or not they should each be retained. Additionally, two incumbent judges chose not to file a statement seeking to be retained in office. The Committee, which must select candidates to fill the vacancies, will release application instructions at a later date. Details on the Committee, including membership, are online.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer