Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Marion County nominees

For Immediate Release | December 18, 2023

Selection Committee names finalists for Marion County judicial positions

The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee announced six nominees to fill two judicial vacancies. The Committee selected the following finalists for the vacancies created by the upcoming retirement of Judge Heather A. Welch and the passing of Judge Shatrese M. Flowers:

For the vacancy created by the upcoming retirement of Judge Welch:

  • Magistrate Polly Beeson
  • Magistrate Marie Kern
  • Magistrate Terrance Tharpe

For the vacancy created by the passing of Judge Flowers:

  • Andrew Blaiklock
  • Magistrate Tara Melton
  • Magistrate James Snyder

On December 15 and 18, the Committee interviewed 21 candidates. Three candidates withdrew their applications from consideration after submitting applications in November. Today, after deliberating in an executive session, the Committee publicly voted to send the two panels of three finalists to the governor. According to Indiana law, the Committee is required to submit to the governor “the three most highly qualified candidates” for appointment when a vacancy arises. Upon receiving the lists, Governor Holcomb has 60 days in which to make appointments to the Marion County courts. Details on the Committee, including membership, are online.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer