Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Rush receives award

For Immediate Release | October 27, 2023

Chief Justice Rush honored to receive prestigious national award

The National Association of Women Judges presented Indiana Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush with the Lady Justice Award. The NAWJ President and Executive Committee honored Chief Justice Rush with the recognition at their annual convention, which was held in Indianapolis.

Prior to accepting the award, Chief Justice Rush met with conference attendees, including judges from across the world. “It is inspiring to meet women from around the globe working to promote the rule of law. The NAWJ members are passionate about helping people in their community—which makes receiving this award from them very meaningful.”

The Lady Justice award honors a member of the NAWJ community who uses their position to promote the rule of law through strong and diverse leadership; fairness and equality in the courts; and equal access to justice. Learn more about the NAWJ online.

Chief Justice Rush took the oath of office as Indiana's 108th Supreme Court Justice in November 2012 after being appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels. She was retained by voters in 2014, named Chief Justice in August 2014, and reappointed Chief Justice in 2019. She is Past President of the Conference of Chief Justices. United States Chief Justice John Roberts appointed her to serve as a member of the Judicial Conference Committee on Federal-State Jurisdiction. More about the Indiana Supreme Court and Chief Justice Rush can be found online along with photographs of the award presentation and Chief Justice Rush meeting with NAWJ guests.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer