Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Constitution Day 2023

For Immediate Release | September 1, 2023

Judges visit students and civic groups for Constitution Day

Forty-six judicial officers from across the state will meet with nearly 3,500 students and civic group members to celebrate Constitution Day in September 2023. Indiana courts commemorate the signing of the U.S. Constitution on September 17, 1787, with a program that brings judges into schools and out into their communities. The following judges are visiting schools sometime around Constitution Day:

Adams County
Judge Chad Kukelhan at Bellmont, Adams Central, and South Adams Elementary Schools

Allen County
Judge David Avery at Woodlan Elementary

Carroll County
Judge Troy Hawkins at Carroll Elementary and Delphi Rotary

Clark County
Judge Lisa Glickfield at Silver Creek
Judge Brad Jacobs at Jeffersonville High School
Magistrate Lisa Reger at Greenville Elementary (Floyd County)

Dearborn County
Judge Jonathan Cleary at Lawrenceburg High School

Elkhart County
Judge Christopher Spataro at Elkhart High School

Floyd County
Judge Maria Granger at East Washington Elementary School

Jennings County
Judge Ellie Bright at Brush Creek Elementary, Scipio Elementary, and St. Mary’s School

Lake County
Judge Rehana Adat-Lopez at Kolling Elementary and Gary Lighthouse Primary School
Judge Julie Cantrell at Lew Wallace Elementary, Solon Robinson Elementary, and Taft Middle School
Judge Aleksandra Dimitrijevic at Munster schools
Judge Kristina Kantar at Area Career Center Hammond
Judge Marissa McDermott at Hammond Academy of Science and Technology
Judge John Sedia at Scott Middle School
Magistrate David Urbanski at Munster schools

Lawrence County
Referee Anah Gouty at St. Vincent de Paul
Judge Nathan Nikirk to Bedford Middle School, Mitchell Middle School, and Lawrence County Independent Schools

Marion County
Chief Justice Loretta Rush at Shortridge High School
Justice Christopher Goff at Grant Regional Career Center (Grant County)
Magistrate Stefanie Crawford at Lawrence North High School
Judge Alicia Gooden at Fishers High School (Hamilton County)
Magistrate Therese Hannah at St. Michael - St. Gabriel Elementary School
Judge Jennifer Harrison at St. Simon the Apostle
Judge Amy Jones at Nativity Catholic School
Judge James Joven at Bishop Chatard High School
Judge Melanie Kendrick at Christel House
Judge John Kitley at Kitley Intermediate
Judge Brenda A. Roper at George Washington High School
Judge Marc Rothenberg at Hasten Hebrew Academy
Judge Philip Sheward at Mary Castle Elementary

Miami County
Judge Jacob Winkler at Maconaquah Middle School

Montgomery County
Judge Daniel Petrie at Crawfordsville High School

Perry County
Judge Lucy Goffinet at William Tell Elementary

Porter County
Judge Mary DeBoer at Immanuel Lutheran School
Judge Michael Fish at Washington Township High School

St. Joseph County
Magistrate Elizabeth Hardtke at Penn Harris Madison Penn High School
Judge Elizabeth Hurley at Walkerton Elementary School and Penn High School
Magistrate Graham Polando at John Adams High School
Judge Stephanie Steele at Clay International Academy

Tippecanoe County
Judge Kristen McVey at Lafayette Catholic School system
Judge Sean Persin at McCutcheon High School

Vanderburgh County
Magistrate Celia Pauli at Holy Rosary Catholic School

Warrick County
Judge Krista Hamby Weiberg at Newburgh Elementary School

Wayne County
Commissioner Austin Shadle at Centerville-Abington Elementary and Centerville Junior High School

Media interested in attending one of the presentations should contact the judge and/or the school directly. Judges and schools may post photographs to social media using #INConstitutionDay.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer