Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Marion County finalists (2301)

For Immediate Release | May 12, 2023

Selection Committee names finalists for Marion County judicial positions

The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee announced six nominees to fill two judicial vacancies. The Committee selected the following finalists for the vacancies created by the retirements of Judge Elizabeth Ann Christ and Judge Marcel A. Pratt, Jr.:

For the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Elizabeth Ann Christ:

  • Magistrate Pauline Beeson
  • Magistrate Kelly Scanlan
  • Philip Sheward

For the vacancy created by the upcoming retirement of Judge Marcel A. Pratt, Jr.:

  • Magistrate Stefanie Crawford
  • Magistrate Melanie Kendrick
  • Magistrate Tara Melton

On May 11-12, the Committee considered 21 candidates. After deliberating in an executive session, the Committee publicly voted to send the two panels of three finalists to the Governor. According to Indiana law, the Committee is required to submit to the Governor “the three most highly qualified candidates” for appointment when a vacancy arises. Upon receiving the lists, Governor Holcomb has 60 days in which to make appointments to the Marion County courts. Details on the Committee, including membership, are online.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer