Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Second Marion County vacancy

For Immediate Release | November 18, 2022

Applications available for second vacancy on Marion Superior Court

The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee is already in the process of filling a vacancy in Criminal Court 29, as announced on October 28. In addition, Judge Steven R. Eichholtz (Court 8, Probate Division) will retire effective December 31, 2022, creating a second vacancy on the Marion Superior Court.

Committee Chairperson and Indiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Loretta Rush and Committee Vice Chairperson and Court of Appeals Judge Robert Altice announced applications for both vacancies are available online and must be submitted through the Indiana Courts Portal by Friday, December 30 at 12:00 p.m. (Eastern). The deadline to apply for the first vacancy is now adjusted from Monday, November 21 to December 30 at 12:00 p.m. (Eastern).

The Committee now intends to meet the week of January 30 to interview all applicants for both vacancies. Details on the public interviews will be posted online. After the conclusion of interviews and an executive session to consider applicants, the Committee will publicly vote to select two separate panels of three nominees each, to send to Governor Eric Holcomb for appointment.

After the Governor appoints the new judges, the Marion Superior Court Executive Committee intends to determine which division each judge will be assigned to.

To be eligible to serve on the Marion Superior Court an applicant must be a resident of Marion County (at the time of the application and throughout the term of office) and be an attorney admitted to the bar of Indiana for at least five years. Additionally, state law prevents more than 52% of the judges in Marion Superior Court from being members of the same political party. See IC 33-33-49-13.4(d).

According to Indiana law, the Committee is required to submit to the Governor “the three most qualified candidates” for appointment when a vacancy arises. Details on the Committee, including membership, are online.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer