Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: Finalists for J. Molter vacancy

For Immediate Release | September 27, 2022

Commission selects six finalists for Court of Appeals second interview

The Judicial Nominating Commission interviewed twelve candidates September 27 and named six finalists for the upcoming vacancy on the Court of Appeals of Indiana. The following applicants will be invited to a second round of interviews with the Commission in October:

  • Honorable Paul A. Felix
  • Honorable Ryan K. Gardner
  • Carol N. Joven
  • Honorable Dana J. Kenworthy
  • Honorable Marc T. Rothenberg
  • Honorable Lisa L. Swaim

Applications and photographs of judges and lawyers who were interviewed for the position are available online. The Commission considers applicants' legal education, writings, reputation in the practice of law, and other pertinent information.

Following the October public interviews (interview times and details to be released soon), the Commission will meet in executive session and then publicly vote to select the three most qualified candidates. The three nominees will be submitted to Governor Eric Holcomb, who has 60 days from receiving the list to select Indiana's next Court of Appeals judge.

The vacancy is the result of the appointment of Justice Derek R. Molter to the Indiana Supreme Court. According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission must recruit and select candidates to fill vacancies on Indiana appellate courts. With Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush as chair, the Commission includes three lawyers elected by their peers and three citizen-members appointed by the Governor. Details on the Commission, including membership, are online.


Kathryn Dolan, Chief Public Information Officer