Language Translation
  Close Menu

Press release: First interviews for J. David vacancy

For Immediate Release | February 11, 2022

Interview times set for Supreme Court applicants

Nineteen judges and lawyers who applied for an opening on the Indiana Supreme Court will be interviewed by the Judicial Nominating Commission on February 28 and March 1.

Monday, February 28

9:00 a.m.-9:45 a.m. – Executive Session
10:00a.m.-10:20 a.m. – Matthew J. McGovern
10:20 a.m.-10:40 a.m. – Hon. Mark E. Spitzer
10:40 a.m.-11:00 a.m. – Hon. Lisa L. Swaim
11:15 a.m.-11:35 a.m. – Patrick W. Price
11:35 a.m.-11:55 a.m. – Hon. Rudolph R. Pyle, III
11:55 a.m.-12:15 p.m. – Hon. Gretchen S. Lund
(Lunch and Executive Session)
1:40 p.m.-2:00 p.m. – William W. Barrett
2:00 p.m.-2:20 p.m. – Hon. James A. Joven
2:20 p.m.-2:40 p.m. – Hon. Jeffrey W. Clymer
2:55 p.m.-3:15 p.m. – Hon. Amy S. Miskimen
3:15 p.m.-3:35 p.m. – Curtis E. Shirley
3:35 p.m.-3:55 p.m. – Hon. Jennifer L. DeGroote
4:05 p.m.-5:00 p.m. – Executive Session

Tuesday, March 1

8:45 a.m.-9:15 a.m. – Executive Session
9:30a.m.-9:50 a.m. – Hon. Derek R. Molter
9:50 a.m.-10:10 a.m. – Hon. Dana J. Kenworthy
10:10 a.m.-10:30 a.m. – Hon. Ryan K. Gardner
10:45 a.m.-11:05 a.m. – Justin P. Forkner
11:05 a.m.-11:25 a.m. – Hon. Jaime M. Oss
11:40 a.m.-12:00 p.m. – Hon. Robert D. Krieg
12:00 p.m.-12:20 p.m. – William N. Riley
(Lunch and Deliberations in Executive Session, followed by public vote)

The interviews are open to the public and will be held in the Fuse East Conference Room on the second floor of the South Tower at Capital Center (201 N. Illinois St., Indianapolis, IN 46204). Due to social distancing, there will be limited in-person seating. Masks are required regardless of vaccination status. Media interested in attending should contact Kathryn Dolan to inquire about reserving a seat.

Members of the audience are asked to refrain from activities that might distract from the interview process. The following guidelines are in place:

  • Only enter and exit between interviews
  • Recording equipment must be set up during breaks
  • Artificial lighting shall not be used
  • Questioning of the applicants is reserved for the Commission
  • Media/public may interview the applicants before/after Commission’s interview outside the interview room at the applicant’s discretion

Applications, along with writing samples, transcripts, and letters of recommendation are a matter of public record. Redacted applications are available online.

A second round of interviews will take place in early April. Following the interviews, the Commission will meet in executive session and then publicly vote to select the three most qualified candidates. The named nominees will be submitted to Governor Eric Holcomb, who has 60 days from receiving the list to select Indiana's next Supreme Court justice.

The vacancy is the result of the upcoming retirement of Justice Steven David. According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission must recruit and select candidates to fill vacancies on Indiana appellate courts. With Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush as chair, the Commission includes three lawyers elected by their peers and three citizen-members appointed by the Governor. Details on the Commission, including membership, are online.