Close Menu

Community Relations

Purpose | Documents | Cameras in Courtrooms Pilot | Judges Speakers Bureau | Constitution Day | Members | Staff Contact


The Community Relations Committee works on issues relating to the public image of courts and the relationship between courts and the media. Committee projects have included production of a public service video, formation of the Media/Judicial Advisory Group, and formation of a “fire brigade” concept for 1st Amendment issues between courts and the media. This committee meets quarterly.




Cameras in Courtrooms Pilot

The Indiana Supreme Court has authorized a pilot project for cameras to be allowed in five trial courts starting in December 2021 for broadcast coverage. The project also allows for rebroadcasting of any live-streamed proceeding with approval from the judge. The broadcast pilot project is a collaboration between the Community Relations Committee and the Court Security Committee of the Judicial Conference of Indiana, the Hoosier State Press Association, and the Indiana Broadcasters Association. Media with questions on the implementation of the pilot project can contact Jenny Bauer.

Broadcast pilot project order »

Media broadcast request form »

Directory of court contact information »

Online trial court calendars »

Trial court remote video hearings »

Judges Speakers Bureau

The Speakers Bureau is intended to connect schools with volunteer judges to speak about courts and the law and promote an understanding of the purpose and structure of Indiana's judicial system. The following is a directory of judicial officers willing to speak to K-12 classrooms in their respective counties. Teachers may contact a listed judge by either telephone or email. For more information on the Judges Speakers Bureau, please contact Jennifer Bauer.

Speakers Bureau Directory »

Constitution Day

Judges are encouraged to find a classroom to visit and celebrate Constitution Day using a variety of resources.

Learn more about Constitution Day »

View photos from 2019 Constitution Day outreach efforts »


Hon. Murielle Bright
Jennings Circuit Court

Hon. John E. Broden
St. Joseph Circuit Court
South Bend

Hon. Maria Granger, Chair
Floyd Superior Court #3
New Albany

Mag. P. Chadwick Hill
Hamilton Superior Court

Hon. Gary Miller
Marion Superior Court

Hon. Cheryl Rivera
Marion County Small Claims Court
Perry Township

Hon. Lori Schein
Boone Circuit Court

Mag. Gary J. Schutte, II
Vanderburgh Circuit Court

Comm. Austin Shadle
Wayne Superior Court

Hon. Stephanie Steele
St. Joseph Superior Court
South Bend

Hon. A. Douglas Stephens
Marion County Small Claims
Pike Township

Staff Contact

Jenny Bauer, Staff Attorney
Indiana Office of Court Services