Language Translation
  Close Menu

Federal Courts in Indiana

U.S. Court of Appeals

The U.S. Court of Appeals hears appeals from the district courts. Congress has grouped the districts into 12 regions, called circuits, each with a court of appeals. There is also a Federal circuit, which covers the entire country. The 7th Circuit Court of Appeals covers the entire State of Indiana.

U.S. Probation Office - Southern Indiana

A part of the United States District Court, the United States Probation Office for the Southern District of Indiana assists the Court in both probation and pretrial functions through investigating and supervising individuals charged with or convicted of Federal crimes.

U.S. District Courts

The district courts are the federal courts where cases are tried, witnesses testify, and juries serve. Congress has divided the country into 94 federal judicial districts, each with its own U.S. district court. Each district court has a separate bankruptcy court.