Language Translation
  Close Menu

County Commissioners

Meeting Rules (Polices and procedures to protect decorum and foster the effective administration of public meetings.)

White County Commissioners

Steve Burton - District 1


Mike Smolek - District 3



James Davis - District 2


Contact Information

Donya Tirpak, Secretary 

P.O. Box 260
110 North Main Street
Monticello, Indiana 47960
Phone 574-583-4879
Fax 574-583-2024

County Commissioners

  • The three commissioners are the custodians of the home rule powers of the county.
  • Counties have 3 commissioners, one from each district in the county. (District Map)
  • Within the scope of home rule, commissioners may adopt and vest themselves with additional regulatory powers.
  • They have authority to pass ordinances in the following broad areas:
  • Controlling, maintaining, and supervising county property including courthouses, jails, and public offices.
  • Supervising construction and maintenance of roads, bridges and to provide for traffic control.
  • Developing economic development programs to attract and retain jobs in the county.
  • To grant vacation pay, sick leave, paid holidays and other similar benefits to county employees.
  • To administer elections in conjunction with the county election board.
  • To establish minimum housing standards.
  • Auditing and authorizing payments on behalf of the county.
  • To incorporate new towns and alter township boundary lines, on petition.
  • Receiving bids and authorizing contracts.
  • Exercising appointive powers including both the selection of members to fill positions on boards, commissions, and committees, and appointments of certain department heads.
  • Planning and implementing strategies for solid waste handling as members of solid waste district boards