Indiana Entry Health Requirements: CATTLE AND BISON
The following is a summary of Indiana's animal health laws governing the transportation of cattle and bison into Indiana. Indiana's cattle and bison identification, movement, and testing laws can be viewed in more detail in 345 IAC 1-2, 345 IAC 1-3-7.5, and 345 IAC 2. For additional information, contact the Indiana State Board of Animal Health Cattle & Ruminant Division at (317)544-2397 or toll free at (877)747-3038, or click here to submit an e-mail inquiry.
If the animal is to be entered in a livestock exhibition in Indiana, see also the Indiana exhibition requirements. Exhibition Requirements.
Official identification is REQUIRED for:
- All ages and breeds used for rodeos, shows, exhibitions, or recreational events
- All sexually intact and 18 months of age or older
- All dairy breed females (including crosses), regardless of age
- All dairy breed bulls and steers born after March 11, 2013 (including crosses and veal calves)
- Animals moving directly to slaughter, or directly to a licensed market for resale as direct to slaughter
- Animals moving directly to a licensed market, where the animal will receive official identification
Three forms of official identification are recognized by the Indiana State Board of Animal Health. All are approved by USDA for interstate movement.
- 840 tags
- May or may not be an RFID (radio frequency device)
- 15 digits, beginning with "840," with US shield
- NUES (brite) tags
- National Uniform Ear Tagging System
- Steel or plastic options available, must include US shield
- Official USDA Program tags
- Such as orange calfhood vaccination tags
NOTE: USDA backtags are considered official within slaughter channels only.
For additional information on official ID go to: www.in.gov/boah/2645.htm.
Records of all animal movements, including purchases, sales, leases and barter agreements must be kept for 5 years. Records must include: name and address of buyer and seller, sale date, animal ID's, breed, sex and reason for movement.
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection
A CVI is required for entry into Indiana for all cattle and bison, both domestic and wild, with the following exceptions:
- Animals traveling directly to slaughter, or directly to a licensed market for resale as direct to slaughter
- Animals traveling directly to a licensed market that do not leave Indiana
- Animals traveling to a facility for veterinary treatment that will return to the state-of-origin
- Animals traveling through the state without being unloaded
The CVI must be issued by a licensed and accredited veterinarian within the 30 days immediately prior to the animal entering Indiana. With the exception of dairy steers, if an animal is required to have official ID, then the official ID number must be recorded on the CVI.
A pre-entry permit is required for all animals that require a certificate of veterinary inspection. A permit must be obtained prior to transporting such animals into Indiana. Permits for cattle and bison may be obtained at any time by visiting www.in.gov/boah/2661.htm, or Monday through Friday, between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. (Eastern), with the exception of state holidays, by calling (317) 544-2397, or toll free at (877)747-3038.
No animal that has tested positive for tuberculosis, brucellosis, or any other infectious or contagious disease excluded by the State Veterinarian may enter Indiana. No animal that originates from a herd that is quarantined for tuberculosis, brucellosis, or other disease concerns may enter Indiana.
The owner of the animal(s) is responsible for completing any required testing before the animal(s) enter Indiana.
The following animals do NOT need a brucellosis test prior to entering Indiana:
- Cattle that originate from a state designated brucellosis-free by the USDA
- Calves less than 400 pounds and younger than 180 days of age
- Beef cattle that are younger than 24 months of age and that are officially vaccinated, identified with a vaccination tattoo, and accompanied by proof of vaccination
- Dairy cattle that are younger than 20 months of age and that are officially vaccinated, identified with a vaccination tattoo, and accompanied by proof of vaccination
- Animals originating from a certified brucellosis-free herd
All other cattle and bison must test negative for brucellosis within the 30 days immediately prior to entering Indiana.
Dairy and breeding cattle that originate from a state or zone designated Class A or Class B for brucellosis by USDA must meet the following additional requirements. As of December 2014, only cattle from Montana and Wyoming must meet the following requirements:
- Test negative within the 30 days immediately prior to entering Indiana and must be quarantined at the point of destination and retested for brucellosis between 45 days and 90 days after entry
- Animals from a certified brucellosis-free herd do not need a test to enter Indiana if the CVI indicates the certified herd number and the date of the last herd test. The last herd test must have been within the 12 months immediately prior to entering Indiana.
- All sexually intact female cattle of dairy breeds (including crossbreeds), 6 months of age or older, must test negative for TB within 60 days prior to entry, regardless of the state of origin.
All other Cattle and Bison
- TB-Free States and Zones
Cattle or bison, excluding dairy breed females (see above), may move with no restrictions.
- Modified Accredited Advanced States or Zones
(The entire state of California)
Cattle and bison 18 months of age and older, excluding dairy breed females (see above), must test negative for tuberculosis within 60 days prior to entering Indiana. Animals do not need to be retested if they tested negative for tuberculosis as part of a herd tuberculosis test at their herd of origin within 6 months prior to their movement into Indiana.
- Modified Accredited States or Zones
(TB-infected zone in northeastern Michigan: Alcona, Alpena, Montmorency, and Oscoda counties as of October 13, 2014.)
- Steers and spayed heifers 2 months of age and older must test negative within 60 days prior to entering Indiana.
- All sexually intact animals must originate from herds that test negative for TB within one year prior to the date of movement into Indiana, and individually test negative within 60 days prior to entering, if the animal is 2 months of age or older.
- Exceptions to TB Testing Requirements
(all sexes, breeds, and states or zones)
- Animals moving directly to slaughter or to slaughter through only one approved livestock facility.
- Animals originating from an accredited herd (NOTE: accredited herd number must be provided).
- Animals moved in accordance with a BOAH-approved commuter herd agreement.
MEXICO: Special requirements for cattle originating from Mexico.
Exhibition: Animals moving into and out of Indiana within 10 days must follow the import testing requirements listed above for the status of their state of origin. Additional dairy-specific testing is not required.
Contact BOAH at 317-544-2400 for more information.