Registration renewal reminders got a makeover!
If you have US Mail set as your preferred reminder method, you may receive the new postcard reminder.
Not sure if US Mail is your chosen preference?
Vehicle Registrations Transaction Types
- New Registrations
This transaction is used to issue a license plate when a vehicle is not registered in Indiana. An Indiana resident who purchases a vehicle from another Indiana resident will need a “new” registration transaction from the title. Indiana residents must register all newly acquired, unregistered vehicles within 45 days after the date on which the vehicle was purchased or acquired, and all vehicles owned by the person within 60 days after becoming a new resident. If changing your legal address during the transaction, you must provide two proofs of address.
The vehicle must first be titled. Visit our Vehicle Transaction Guide to learn more.
A new motor vehicle registration may be completed:
- Renew a Registration
Registrations must be renewed on or before the registration’s scheduled expiration date in order to avoid a $15 administrative penalty. If changing your legal address during the transaction, you must provide two proofs of address.
Renewals may be completed:
- Online at myBMV.com (except for heavy weighted vehicles over 26,000 lbs. and any other vehicles that require additional forms upon renewal). You can manage your renewal notices online as well.
- At any BMV Connect Kiosk.
- Over the phone by calling 888-692-6841 (except for heavy weighted vehicles over 26,000 lbs., all special group recognition plates, and any other vehicles that require additional forms upon renewal). You will need to provide the following over the phone:
- Your phone access code, which are listed on your myBMV account or on your renewal notice.
- Zip code for each vehicle listed
- By mailing your renewal notices and including your payment to the following address:
Winchester Processing Center
PO Box 100
309 West South St
Winchester, IN 47394
If you received a postcard in the mail reminding you of an upcoming registration renewal due date and you want to renew through US Mail, we have an option for you. Here are the steps:
- Print out and complete State Form 56163
When completing the form, make sure to include the license plate number for each vehicle you are renewing.
- Input your renewal cost(s) on the form
To find out how much your renewal(s) costs, you will need to login to or create a myBMV account. Once you are in your account, follow these steps:
i. Click on the Plates And Registration links on the top navigation menu.
ii. Click on the Renew Your Plates Online from left navigation.
iii. Scroll to the bottom of the page and you will see your vehicle(s). Amount Due is found in the far-right column under ‘Current Amount Due.
iv. If you have more than one vehicle you are renewing, please add all vehicles costs together.
- Once you have completed the form and included your payment, put the information is a self-addresses stamped envelope and mail to the address listed on State Form 56163.
- Print out and complete State Form 56163
- At any FSP/PSP location.
- At any BMV branch.
If you believe your vehicle license plate was stolen, you may report it as stolen to law enforcement. When reporting a plate as stolen to the BMV, you must have law enforcement complete the Report of Stolen License Plate or Registration Decal – State Form 37135 and present the form to a BMV branch at the time of application for a replacement license plate.
If you do not know if the plate has been lost or stolen, you may decide if you would like to report it as stolen to law enforcement. The plate is not required to be reported as stolen. When a license plate number has been flagged as stolen, a replacement license plate number (new plate number) must be issued. A duplicate license plate number (same plate number) cannot be re-issued. When a plate number has been flagged as stolen, it will be ineligible for re-issuance for 5 years from the date that the stolen status was applied to the plate number by the BMV.
- Amend a Registration
This transaction is used to update information that has changed or is incorrect due to various reasons. If changing your legal address during the transaction, you must provide two proofs of address.
All of the following scenarios listed will require you to visit a branch:
- BMV error.
- Body change: used when the vehicle’s body style has changed (ex. Bus to Recreational Vehicle (RV)).
- County change: two proofs of address are needed for this amendment.
- Changing from a non-farm plate to a farm plate or vice versa.
- Expiration change, which may occur for two different reasons:
- Your last name may have changed due to a marriage, divorce, or court order. You are required to present documentation if the name has not already been changed on the Indiana driver’s license, or
- The Registration License Type may have changed (ex. Church bus to Special Purpose Bus. Church Bus plates expire on 2/28, whereas the Special Purpose Bus expires of 9/28).
- Other corrections:
- Adding or removing owners from a registration (must first be added/removed from the title).
- Changing a name on a registration (marriage, divorce, or court order) that does not change the registration's expiration. You must present proper documentation proving the name change.
- Changing the address on a certificate of registration that does not involve a county change. Two proofs of address are required to amend your legal address.
- Plate type change:
- Changing from one plate design to another (Ex: plate change from an "In God We Trust" plate to a passenger plate).
- Re-weight up or down (Ex: Changing from a light truck 11,000 to a heavy truck 26,000).
- Report Plate as Stolen:
- If you believe your vehicle license plate was stolen, you may report it as stolen to law enforcement. When reporting a plate as stolen to the BMV, you must have law enforcement complete the Report of Stolen License Plate or Registration Decal – State Form 37135 and present the form to a BMV branch at the time of application for a replacement license plate.
- If you do not know if the plate has been lost or stolen, you may decide if you would like to report it as stolen to law enforcement. The plate is not required to be reported as stolen. When a license plate number has been flagged as stolen, a replacement license plate number (new plate number) must be issued. A duplicate license plate number (same plate number) cannot be re-issued. When a plate number has been flagged as stolen, it will be ineligible for re-issuance for 5 years from the date that the stolen status was applied to the plate number by the BMV.
- Theft Recovery: used when registration amendment is needed after a vehicle has been recovered after a theft.
- Transfer a License Plate
If you are completing any of the above transactions (new, renew, or amend a registration), you may also transfer a license plate from a vehicle that you own or have sold/disposed of to a different vehicle that you own or have newly acquired/purchased. Only the following license plates may be transferred online at mybmv.com: Passenger, Truck (11,000 pounds or less), Motorcycle, and In God We Trust, but please be advised that there may be specific scenarios where you cannot transfer online and must visit a branch to transfer your plate.
- Duplicate and Replace a Registration
A duplicate registration is needed when you require a new license plate, sticker, or registration document due to being lost, stolen, damaged or destroyed.
If the license plate was mailed by the BMV and you never received it, please call the Contact Center at 888-692-6841 or visit your local BMV branch.
- Duplicate License Plate:
- You must visit a branch to obtain a duplicate plate. You will receive the same plate number and same plate type if a replacement/duplicate plate is needed.
- Replacement License Plate:
- You must visit a branch to obtain a replacement plate. You will receive the same plate type, but a new plate number.
- Duplicate – Motor Vehicle Registration Document: used when you require a duplicate registration document due to damage or loss.
- You may print a duplicate registration through myBMV.com at no cost. State Form 37135 - Application for Replacement or Duplicate License Plate is not required to be submitted for a duplicate motor vehicle registration.
- Replacement – Sticker: used if you request replacement license plate stickers because you have not received your certificate of registration with stickers in the mail or the stickers on your license plate are damaged or lost.
- You will be mailed a new certificate of registration, an expiration year sticker, and any other stickers (i.e., month/day, county, or weight/bus tagline) that were fulfilled with the last registration transaction.
- If you need a new month/day, county or weight/bus tagline sticker, please visit a branch.
- Effective 5/4/2018, replacement expiration year stickers can be purchased at a BMV Connect kiosk.
- Duplicate License Plate:
Not sure how to title and register your vehicle?
Check out our step-by-step interactive guide to walk you through what to expect on basic vehicle transactions!