An Indiana driver’s license or identification card may be renewed up to two years prior to expiration for most Hoosiers. Individuals with temporary lawful status can only renew up to 30 days prior to the expiration of their current license or identification card.
When renewing a Real ID compliant driver’s license or state ID, U.S. citizens do not need to provide documents required for obtaining a Real ID each renewal year. Non-US Citizens are required to bring additional paperwork. For more information, please review the section below titled: When you Must Visit a BMV Branch to Renew.
License, Permit, & ID Validity Periods
Renewing at a Branch
Renewing if You're Away from Indiana
How Long is My Operator’s License or Identification Card Valid?
Driver's Licenses & Identification Cards
Your driver's license or identification card expires at midnight on your birthday. If your birthday falls on a day all BMV branches are closed in your county, your driver's license or identification card will expire at midnight on the next business day. An administrative penalty of $6.00 will be charged if your driver’s license is renewed after its expiration date. There is no administrative penalty to renew an expired identification card.
Other validity periods for licenses are as follows:
- Six years if you are 74 years or under in age.
- Three years if you are 75 - 84 years of age.
- Two years if you are 85 years of age or older.
Licenses with a Motorcycle Endorsement
Your Indiana motorcycle endorsement is valid for the same period as your driver’s license. You may renew your driver’s license with your endorsement at any Indiana BMV branch or online up to two years before the driver’s license expires.
Probationary Operator's Licenses
A probationary operator’s license expires at midnight 30 days after your 21st birthday.
Driver's licenses or identification cards issued to foreign nationals with temporary status expires on the end date of their lawful stay in the United States.
Commercial Driver's Licenses
For information on renewing or replacing a Commercial Drivers License, visit the Commercial Driver's License section.
Easily Renew Online or at a Kiosk
Renewing a Driver's License or an Identification Card
Make sure to review the below criteria to confirm you are eligible to renew your driver’s license or identification card online or at a BMV Connect kiosk. Regardless of whether you are doing a renewal or replacement, you will must provide your full name, date of birth, residential address, and Social Security number when you login to myBMV. If you are using a BMV Connect kiosk, you must provide your driver’s license or ID number, legal zip code, and last 4 digits of your Social Security number.
- You can renew your identification card online only if you meet the following conditions:
- You are a citizen of the United States and an Indiana resident
- There is no change in your name, residential address or other information
- Your identification card is not expired for more than 180 days
- You are within 24 months of your renewal date
- Your previous photo is on file
- Your record does not have restrictions 3, 7 or 9
- You can renew your driver’s license online only if you meet the following conditions:
- You have an operator’s license with or without a motorcycle or For-Hire endorsement.
- You are a citizen of the United States and an Indiana resident.
- There is no change in your name, residential address or other personal information.
- Your previous renewal transaction was completed in a BMV branch.
- Your driver’s license is not expired for more than 180 days.
- You are not required to take an exam.
- You are within 24 months of your renewal date.
- You are under 75 years of age.
- Customers 75 years of age or older, who have submitted a vision screening from your licensed ophthalmologist or licensed optometrist and intend on renewing within 30 days of the screening, may also renew online or at a BMV Connect kiosk.
- Please have your licensed ophthalmologist or licensed optometrist fill out a Vision Screening Documentation – State Form 56520, and then submit it to the BMV at DriverAbility@bmv.IN.gov.
- Your driver’s license does not have restrictions J or 2 - 9
- J - Other
- 2 - Habitual Traffic Violator Conditional License
- 3 - Photo Exempt
- 5 - Conditional
- 6 - Interlock Ignition Device
- 7 - Seat Belt Exempt
- 8 - Medical Condition
- 9 - Temporary
- Your previous photo is on file
- You are not suspended, revoked or invalidated
- You do not have six or more active points on your driver record
- You are not under 21 years old
An applicant may also apply to register to vote while processing a replacement or renewal credential transaction online.
When You Must Visit a BMV Branch to Renew
Many Hoosiers are eligible to renew online every other renewal, which means that you only need to visit the BMV branch once every 10-12 years for a license or identification card renewal. However, there will be circumstances requiring you to visit a branch location in order to renew a credential.
If you must visit a BMV branch, here is a list of BMV branch locations.
Reasons You May Need to Visit a License BMV Branch
- Customers with a Commercial Driver’s License or a For-Hire endorsement must visit a BMV branch to renew their driver’s license.
- If you need to change your name or residential address, you will need to visit a branch and present documentation of the change to amend your license.
- When you apply for a new driver’s license, permit, or identification card, you are required to obtain a Real ID. You will need the following documents:
- One document proving your identity; and
- One document proving your lawful status in the United States; and
- One document proving your Social Security number; and
- Two documents proving your Indiana residency
If you have ever changed your last name, documentation for that change is also required. You can learn more by reading about Real ID requirements and acceptable documents.
- Licensed drivers who are 75 years of age and older must visit a BMV branch to renew.
- Foreign nationals with permanent or temporary lawful status must also visit a branch and provide documentation of identity, lawful status, proof of Social Security Number (or proof of ineligibility) and Indiana residency for each renewal transaction.
- If you have six or more points on your driving record, you must take the written test to renew your driver's license.
- If you are renewing a driver’s license that is not expired because your last renewal was online, you must pass a standard vision screening or submit Vision Screening Documentation – State Form 56520 completed by a licensed ophthalmologist or licensed optometrist.
- If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for less than 180 days, you must pay a $6.00 administrative penalty fee and pass a standard vision screening or submit Vision Screening Documentation – State Form 56520.
- If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for 180 days but not more than three years, you must pay a $6.00 administrative penalty, pass a written test, and undergo a standard vision screening or submit Vision Screening Documentation – State Form 56520.
- If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for more than three years, you must pay a $6.00 administrative penalty, and pass a written test, a driving test, and a standard vision screening (or submit Vision Screening Documentation – State Form 56520).
Renewing a License If You Are Away From Indiana
If your Indiana driver's license is expired, lost or stolen while you are out of the state, you may renew or replace your driver's license online if you meet the requirements listed above, or you may request a 30-day interim from the date your driver's license expires. To obtain a 30-day interim of your driver's license or a 30-day interim credential you will need to download and complete a Request for Interim License, State Form 54580. After you have completed the form in its entirety, mail it to the address listed on the form. You may be able to print a paper interim license from your myBMV account if you recently renewed or replaced your driver’s license in a BMV branch or online at myBMV.com.
If you are temporarily living outside Indiana because you are serving in the military, your license remains valid for 90 days following your discharge from service. If your license expires while outside of Indiana and you are not eligible for online renewal you may print a Military Interim Letter. While operating a motor vehicle, you should hold in your possession your most current driver's license along with this letter and proof of your service in the Armed Forces. To obtain a renewed license after you have been discharged, you need to visit a branch and show proof of discharge.
Still Have Questions?
Send us an email about renewing a credential.Email Us