- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Serve Indiana

Indiana Nonprofit Summit > Serve Indiana Awards for Excellence Serve Indiana Awards for Excellence

2013 Governor's Service Award Winners

Serve Indiana recognizes outstanding Hoosiers for their service to the community.
Serve Indiana Awards for Excellence are the state's most prestigious awards for volunteer service.

Award honorees are recognized for outstanding volunteer contributions to causes that include health care, neighborhood revitalization, youth and senior activities, the arts, education, justice, housing, nutrition and social services. At the annual awards reception, each honoree receives a beautiful customized award, presented by the representatives of the highest office in Indiana.  

2014 Award Categories:

Corporate Service  
Exemplary Service Learning 
Faith-Based Volunteer   
Lifetime Achievement  
National Service     
Volunteer Program 
Youth Volunteer    

Nomination Process

The nomination process for the 2014 awards is now open. Download and complete a nomination packet. Nominations must be returned by July 18, 2014 
The award ceremony is held in October.  To keep up to date with the deadlines and other information sign up for our newsletters on our Contact Us page.  Every year we post a nomination application which is a short form that accompanies a four page narrative that explains the contributions of the nominee.   Two pages of attachments are encouraged to help the judges understand the depth of each individual's service. Please view the suggestions for writing an effective nomination

Award Ceremony Reception

The 2013 Governor's Service Award recipients were presented their awards at the Indiana Statehouse on October 3, 2013 during the award ceremony reception.  The award ceremony is held each year as a ticketed event and is open to the public.  This year, award recipients were presented their awards by members of the Indiana Commission on Community Service and Volunteerism.  The event was emceed by Vanessa McClure from Fox59. Arsenal Tech High School ROTC presented the flags and led the audience in singing the National Anthem.

A few pictures from the 2013 ceremony, to see more click here

Past Winners

List of all Past Awardees
Photographs and Names of 2012 Awardees
Videos of 2012 Awardees: