Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
IDOI implements strict laws with licensing procedures and requirements. Sircon, under contract with IDOI, manages all aspects of the license application and renewal process.
The Sircon website is capable of handling the following information:
The application for Producer Licensing can be applied for in three ways:
To apply for the Consent Under 18 U.S.C. 1033 Federal Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 waiver you must submit a completed application to IDOI Enforcement Division with all required documentation which includes:
Once the 1033 waiver application is filed
IDOI mails producer renewal invoices to the producer's residence address on file. Please note there is a $100.00 penalty for failure to report a change of address within 30 days of the change. If for some reason you do not receive a renewal invoice, it is still your responsibility to renew your license. If you do not receive an invoice at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date you may go online to renew at either Sircon.com or NIPR.com.
Invoices are mailed to producers approximately 60 days before the license is due to expire. The continuing education hours required for renewal and the hours reported to the Department at the time the invoice was issued are posted on the invoice.
To renew your license by our paper application, please follow the instructions on the invoice and list CE course numbers and credit hours on the back of invoice, sign the invoice and mail it with payment to:
Indiana Department of Insurance
Attn: P.O. Box 6129
Indianapolis, Indiana 46206-6129
Do not mail the renewal invoice and payment to the Department's street address.
The renewal date is the last day of the license issue month every two (2) years except for Public Adjuster which is annual.
Licenses issued or renewed before July 1, 2007 are for a four year period with a 40-hour continuing education requirement.
Licenses issued or renewed after July 1, 2007 are for a two year period with 20-hour continuing education requirements.
Producers holding four year Limited Lines licenses (Mortgage, Industrial Fire, Funeral Directors, Crop Insurance) must complete 10 credit hours of continuing education courses before the renewal period. These producers may use any approved course on any subject.
Producers holding a two year Limited Lines licenses (Mortgage, Industrial Fire, Funeral Directors, Crop Insurance) must complete 5 credit hours of continuing education courses before the renewal period. These producers may use any approved course on any subject.
Title producers with a four year license must complete 14 hours in courses related to the business of title insurance with at least four hours of instruction in a structured setting or comparable self-study concerning:
Title producers with a two year license must complete 7 hours in courses related to the business of title insurance with at least one hour of instruction concerning the four items above.
An attorney holding a Title License may complete all or any of the required hours in continuing legal education courses related to the business of title insurance or any aspect of real property law.
Producers moving to Indiana from other states must satisfy all licensing requirements applicable to resident agents. However, if the new resident producer was previously licensed for the same line(s) of authority in another state, he/she will be exempt from any pre-licensing education and examination requirements if:
After IDOI receives these forms and the applicant's fee, a new license will be mailed. The license should be mailed within 5 working days.
In certain circumstances, IDOI may issue temporary licenses. Direct written inquiries for information on this procedure to firstname.lastname@example.org
Assumed Names Before an insurance producer may do business in Indiana under any name other than the producer's legal name, the insurance producer must notify IDOI of the proposed use of the assumed name. When notifying IDOI, please use the Service Request form.
If your license has been expired for less than one year and you have completed the continuing education requirement within the renewal period, your license can be reinstated. For reinstatement take the following action:
If your license has been expired for less than one year and you have not completed the continuing education requirement during the renewal period, your license can be reinstated. For reinstatement take the following actions:
If your license has been expired for more than one year, it may not be reinstated. Instead, you must apply for a new license and complete all pre-licensing requirements, including the pre-licensing examination.
If you are seeking reinstatement of your license by taking the laws and regulations portion of the pre-licensing examination:
This requirement does not apply to producers holding a Limited Lines Credit, Title, or Mortgage license.
Each licensed producer is required by law to notify IDOI in writing within 30 days of any change of residence or name.
Failure to notify IDOI of an address or name change within 30 days of the change will result in a $100 penalty. Please provide the following information:
Any licensed resident producer who has moved his/her residence from the state of Indiana shall have his/her resident producer license terminated by IDOI.