IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Environmental Management

Compliance and Technical Assistance Program

Welcome

The Compliance Technical Assistance Program (CTAP) is your one-stop shop for environmental regulatory compliance needs. Staff with experience in all environmental programs are ready to provide technical and confidential compliance assistance on a wide array of environmental topics.

Upcoming Compliance Due Dates

  • May 1:
  • May 15:
    • Underground Storage Tank (UST) fee is due. If the UST owner fee is more than $500 then can elect to submit the first payment due of the fee in four installments.
  • May 28:
    • Quarterly Non-Compliance Report due for those delegated water Pretreatment Programs allowed to submit in May (otherwise due in April).
  • June 15:
    • Second quarter payment due for NPDES Annual Bill, if paying in quarterly installments.
  • June 30:
    • Wastewater operator certification renewal applications due (certifications expire every two years).
    • Drinking water operator certification renewal applications due (certifications expire every two years).
  • July 1:
  • July 15:
  • July 20:
    • Hazardous Waste Disposal Fee (State Form 46244, available on the IDEM Forms page) due for the prior quarter’s activity for disposal of hazardous waste onsite through underground injection or by other methods.
  • July 28:
    • Quarterly Non-Compliance Report due for delegated water Pretreatment Programs (unless otherwise permitted to submit report in August).
  • July 30:
    • Semi-Annual Air Compliance Monitoring Report due for January through June. Check your permit to determine if you are on a quarterly or semi-annual reporting schedule.
    • Air Quarterly Deviation and Compliance Monitoring Report due for April through June. Check your permit to determine if you are on a quarterly or semi-annual reporting schedule.
    • Quarterly Air Permit reports (e.g., usage reports) due for April through June.

Featured Topics

New 2016 Federal Reporting Requirements For Owners of Emergency Engines

Owners of emergency engines with a maximum engine power of more than 100 horsepower (HP), which are operated or contractually obligated to be available more than 15 hours/year for emergency demand response, voltage or frequency deviations, or local reliability (as specified in 40 CFR §63.6640(f), §60.4211(f), and §60.4243(d)), must now submit an annual report to U.S. EPA.

The report, due March 31, 2016, is to be submitted electronically through the Compliance and Emissions Data Reporting Interface (CEDRI), accessed through U.S. EPA’s Central Data Exchange. It must cover the prior year’s operations and include the information specified in 40 CFR §63.6650(h) (for stationary emergency RICEs), §60.4214(d) (for compression ignition engines), or §60.4245(e) (for spark-ignition engines). More information on the report is available on U.S. EPA’s Stationary Internal Combustion Engines page.

Changes Affecting Emergency Planning and Community Right-To-Know Act (SARA Title III) Reporting

Effective July 1, 2015, Senate Bill 484 transferred the responsibility for administering Indiana’s reporting program under Title III of the federal Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA Title III) from the Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM) to the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS). All Hazardous Chemical Inventory/Tier II reports are now due to be submitted to IDHS [PDF], beginning January 1, 2016.

In addition, IDHS has developed Tier 2 Manager, a new online portal designed to act as a unified reporting, notification, and fee payment system. Facilities no longer need submit separate Tier 2 reports to ISDH, the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), and the local fire department and can pay their Hazardous Chemical Inventory Fee (HC-500) through Tier 2 Manager via credit card or e-check.

IDHS is conducting workshops [PDF] on the new reporting system. Interested parties should RSVP to the appropriate workshop contact.