Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Video not showing? View in Internet Explorer 8 or later with compatibility mode OFF. Videos can also be viewed with Firefox, Chrome and Safari, or visit the YouTube channel at http://www.youtube.com/idnrvideos.
Want to know more about what it takes to become a great Indiana Conservation Officer candidate? Sign up here and we will contact you when you there is a recruiting event in your area. You'll get the chance to meet a conservation officer and ask questions. If you live outside of Indiana, select a county that you are willing to travel to for an event.
Worthy candidates to become Indiana Conservation Officers must be mature, responsible, tactful individuals dedicated to a career in natural resources law enforcement. They must be able to work with minimum supervision, in all kinds of weather.
See if you meet the minimum prerequisites by taking the pre-screening test. The pre-screening test is currently closed but will open in 2017.
Those who successfully complete the pre-screening test will receive an email from ICORecruit-Testing@dnr.IN.gov when it is time to sign up for further testing. Enter this address in your contact list but be sure to check your junk/spam email folder in case it gets caught there. Note that you must pass a detailed background check and a polygraph test.
Ideally, preparation to become an Indiana Conservation Officer should start at age 16-18. Eligible applicants must be at least age 21 at time of graduation from the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy. ILEA graduation is expected to be on October 20, 2017. There is no maximum age restriction. Those who are hired will be given opportunity to compete for assignment to vacant counties within Indiana based on the current needs of the Law Enforcement Division.
Please tell us more about your interest in becoming an Indiana Conservation Officer by taking this survey.
Applicants must be at least 21 years of age at time of appointment (completion of the hiring process). There are no maximum age restrictions.
The hiring process will take around 7 months to complete.
You must complete the online prerequisite questionnaire found on this webpage to register for the hiring process. Once you have registered the DNR Law Enforcement Division will contact you with information about the next testing process.
This written test is similar to the POST exam. The examination tests for basic reading comprehension, mathematics (nothing greater than division), spelling and grammar skills. It is based on a high school level education.
Some include, but are not limited to: conviction of a felony or commission of a felony; adverse credit; recent drug usage, irresponsible driving history, poor work history, etc…
You will have the opportunity to compete for an assignment to specific vacant counties as determined by the current needs of the Law Enforcement Division.
As of Dec. 2, 2016, vacancies include these counties (subject to change):
Trainee annual salary is $37,590 plus benefits. Upon successful completion of training and status as a Probationary Officer, salary increases to $39,213.18. After that, salary increases each year according to the current 20-year matrix schedule. One vacation day is earned each month. One sick day is earned every other month. One personal day is earned every fourth month. Leave is accrued on the employee’s accrual date. Bonus sick days are accrued when the employee accrues a personal day.
After five years of employment an officer earns three days of vacation; after 10 years of employment, an officer earns earn eight days; and after 20 years of employment, an officer earns 13 days.
Fourteen annual paid holidays.
Basic Life, supplemental Life, and dependent Life are available at a low cost.
Conservation and Excise police officers have a combined self-insured health plan that includes medical, dental, and vision coverage for officers and their dependents. The plan may continue upon retirement as long as eligibility requirements are met.
Employee health insurance premium is deducted from gross pay before taxes. This allows taxes to be calculated on lower pay, resulting in more take-home pay. This is a permanent tax reduction for as long as participation is maintained.
Opportunity to set aside pre-tax dollars from each paycheck for reimbursement of qualified medical and/or dependent care expenses.
Conservation Officers, Excise Police Officers and Gaming Agents have a combined pension plan. Mandatory retirement age is 65. Early retirement options are available for those who have reached age 45 and have accrued at least 15 years of creditable service (reduced benefit); reached age 55 and the sum of age and years of service equals 85 (unreduced benefit); and age 50 and have accrued at least 25 years of service (unreduced benefit).
Employees who leave in good standing with the state are eligible to be paid up to 30 vacation days on their last payroll check.