- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Commission for Higher Education

CHE > About the Commission > About CHE About CHE

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education is a fourteen-member public body created in 1971 to:

  • Define the educational missions of public colleges and universities
  • Plan and coordinate Indiana’s state-supported system of postsecondary education
  • Review budget requests from public institutions and the Division of Student Financial Aid 
  • Approve or disapprove for public institutions the establishment of new programs or expansion of campuses

The Governor appoints twelve members, nine representing a Congressional District and three at-large members, to serve terms of four years. In addition, the 1990 legislature added a student and a faculty representative who are appointed by the Governor for terms of two years. The Commission is not a governing board, but a coordinating agency that works closely with Indiana’s public and independent colleges.

Our main office is located in the Old National Building at:

    101 West Ohio Street, Suite 550
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-1984
    Phone: (317) 464-4400

Student Commission Member Nominating Process

The members of the 2014 Student Nominating Committee would like to thank you for your interest in the student member position on the Indiana Commission for Higher Education. Applications are no longer being accepted. Student interviews will be held at the Commission for Higher Education’s office at 101 West Ohio Street, Suite 550, in downtown Indianapolis on Friday, April 4, 2014. Students will be responsible for travel expenses and parking fees. All applicants being interviewed have been notified.

For questions regarding the nominating committee and application process, please contact Liz Walker at