- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

IAC > About the Commission > Strategic Plan Strategic Plan

In March 2011, the Indiana Arts Commission approved the 2012-2016 five-year strategic plan. The 2012-2016 plan with its "Refresher" was approved in December 2013. Documents from the strategic planning process can be found below.

National Praise for Strategic Planning Process

A new five-year strategic plan for the Indiana Arts Commission, and the process which created it, have received praise from a national organization representing state arts agencies.

Based in Washington, D.C., the National Assembly of State Arts Agencies (NASAA) is an advocacy organization dedicated to providing information and services to strengthen state arts agencies. One of the many ways NASAA carries out that mission is through research and information referral. 

"I've been monitoring the IAC's planning activities during the last year and see many hallmarks of best practices in both the process and the final product," said Kelly J. Barsdate, NASAA's Chief Program and Planning Officer. "The research that the IAC conducted, especially the capacity assessment and the public surveys, is a distinctive approach that provides a powerful fact base."

Barsdate said the plan makes a good case for the relevance of the arts agency to the public and to state government, with a structure and timetable that will allow the IAC to adjust to rapid changes in the environment.

"All in all, the IAC's process shows how a state arts agency - or any state agency - can develop a plan that's relevant to current conditions, attentive to the needs expressed by constituents, transparent and accountable," Barsdate stated. "NASAA will be posting information about the research and plan to our national website so that other states can learn from what Indiana has done." 

The new five-year strategic plan presented to the Commission was officially approved at the quarterly business meeting on Friday, March 11, 2011.